## CONSUMERS' GAS COMPANY.

The Fifty-first Annual General Meeting of the Shareholders of the Consumers' Gas Company of Toronto was held in the Board Room of the Building and Loan Association, Toronto Street, on Monday, October 30th, 1899, at noon, the alterations to the Company's office premises not being sufficiently advanced to afford the necessary accommodation for the meeting.

Present—Dr. Larratt W. Smith, George Gooderham, J. L. Blaikie, Thos. R. Wood, W. H. Pearson, A. J. Somerville, G. R. R. Cockburn, M.A., J. George, Thos. Long, C. C. Baines, Walter S. Lee, I. C. Gilmor, James Henderson, M.A., Miss Dickson, Samuel Alcorn, F. W. Gates, E. A. Scadding, J. Bissett and John Stark.

The President occupied the chair, and read the Report of the Directors, of which he moved the adoption. In his remarks the President stated that the Company's works were in a most efficient condition, and called attention to the economy to be effected by the issue of debentures instead of more capital stock. The motion to adopt the Report was seconded by Mr. G. R. R. Cockburn, and was carried unanimously.

A resolution of thanks to the President, Vice-President and Directors, for their efficient services during the year, was moved by Mr. John Stark, seconded by Mr. E. A. Scadding, and carried unanimously.

In moving a similar resolution of thanks to the General Manager and Secretary, and the other officers and employes of the Company, Mr. F. W. Gates referred in complimentary terms to the valuable services rendered by the General Manager, as well as by the other officers of the Company, in which, in a few remarks, the President heartily concurred. This resolution was seconded by Mr. J. George, and was carried unanimously.

The Manager expressed his appreciation of the resolution, and desired to thank Mr. Gates for the kind manner in which he had alluded to his services, and the more so from the fact of his being the President of another gas company. The Manager also spoke in high terms of the assistance which he had received from the other officers of the Company and from the office staff.

Messrs. W. E. Sampson and J. C. Copp were re-appointed Auditors for the current year.

Messrs. Walter S. Lee and C. C. Baines were appointed scrutineers, and as the result of their scrutiny reported the following gentlemen to have been unanimously re-elected Directors for the ensuing year:—Samuel Alcorn, J. L. Blaikie, Henry Cawthra, G. R. R. Cockburn, M.A., I. C. Gilmor, George Gooderham, James Henderson, M.A., Thos. Long, Larratt W. Smith, D.C.L., Q.C., Hon. Sir Frank Smith, A. J. Somerville and Thos. R. Wood.

At a Board Meeting, subsequently held, Dr. Larratt W. Smith was unanimously re-elected President, and Hon. Sir Frank Smith, Vice-President, for the ensuing year.