The following Petitions were severally brought up and laid on the Table:-

By the Honourable Mr. Young, for the Honourable Mr. Lyman Jones:-

Of Emily Jane Lee, of the City of Toronto; praying for a Bill of Divorce from her husband, Harry Altman Lee.

By the Honourable Mr. Kerr:-

Of Rosalie Torrington and Emily Cummings of the City of Toronto.

The Honourable Mr. Gibson, from the Committee of Selection appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, presented their First Report.

Ordered, That it be received, and the same was then read by the Clerk and it is as follows:-

## THE SENATE,

## COMMITTEE ROOM No. 8,

## WEDNESDAY, January 21, 1914.

The Committee of Selection, appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, have the honour to report herewith the following lists of Senators selected by them to serve on each of the following Standing Committees, namely:—

The Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament:—His Honour the Speaker, the Honourable Messieurs Boucherville de (C.M.G.), Boyer, Corby, Costigan, Davis, Dennis, Derbyshire, Douglas, Gillmor, Gordon, Jaffray, LaRivière, McHugh, Poirier, Ross (Sir George, Kt.)—16.

Joint Committee on Printing of Parliament:-The Honourable Messieurs Cloran, Coffey, Curry, Dennis, Derbyshire, De Veber, Domville, Forget, Frost, Gillmor, LaRivière, Legris, Mackay, (Alma), Mackeen, Pope, Prince, Ratz, Riley, Sheyhn, Talbot, Taylor.-21.

The Committee on Standing Orders:-Honourable Messieurs Belcourt, Farrell, Lavergne, McKay (Cape Breton), Power, Ross (Middleton), Tessier, Yeo, Young. -9.

The Committee on Banking and Commerce:—Honourable Messieurs:—Béique, Bowell (Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G.), Boyer, Corby, Casgrain, Curry, Dandurand, Daniel, Dessaulles, Edwards, Gibson, Jaffray, Jones, (Sir Lyman, Kt.), Kerr, Lougheed, Mason, Mackay (Alma), MacKeen, Macmillan, McSweeney, Mitchell, Ratz, Roche, Ross (Sir George, Kt.), Ross (Moosejaw), Sheyhn, Smith, Thibaudeau, Thompson, Thorne, Wilson, Yeo.—32.

The Committee on Railways, Telegraphs and Harbours:—Honourable Messieurs Baird, Béique, Beith, Belcourt, Bolduc, Bostock, Bowell (Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G.), Casgrain, Choquette, Coffey, Dandurand, David, Davis, Derbyshire, De Veber, Domville, Donnely, Douglas, Edwards, Fiset, Frost, Gibson, Gillmor, Girroir, Godbout, Gordon, Jones (Sir Lyman, Kt.), Kerr, King, Kirchoffer, Lavergne, Lougheed, Mac-Keen, McCall, McHugh, McLaren, McMillan, Mitchell, Owens, Poirier, Pope, Power, Riley, Ross (Moosejaw), Ross (W. B.), Talbot, Tessier, Thompson, Watson, Young.—50.