Mr. Woolliams, seconded by Mr. McCutcheon, moved in amendment thereto,—That the motion be amended by adding after the word "rate", the following words:

"and/or with the fact that transportation costs have increased substantially and at an uncontrolled, unprecedented rate.".

And debate arising thereon, at 9.45 o'clock p.m., Mr. Speaker interrupted the debate pursuant to Standing Order 58(9);

And the question being put on the said proposed amendment, it was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 22)

YEAS

Messrs.

Alkenbrack,	Flemming,	Lambert	McCutcheon,	Rowland,
Barnett,	Forrestall,	(Bellechasse),	McGrath,	Ryan,
Beaudoin,	Gilbert,	Lambert	Marshall,	Schumacher,
Bell,	Gleave,	(Edmonton West),	Mather,	Stanfield,
Benjamin,	Grills,	Lewis,	Matte,	Thomas
Broadbent,	Harding,	Lundrigan,	Mazankowski,	(Moncton),
Burton,	Horner,	MacInnis (Cape	Nystrom,	Thompson
Cadieu,	Howard (Skeena),	Breton-East	Orlikow.	(Red Deer),
Caouette,	Knight,	Richmond),	Peddle,	Thomson
Crouse,	Knowles (Winnipeg	MacInnis (Mrs.),	Peters.	(Battleford-
Danforth,	North Centre),	MacKay,	Rodrigue,	Kindersley),
Dionne,	Knowles (Norfolk-	Macquarrie,	Rondeau.	Woolliams,
Douglas, Fairweather,	Haldimand),	McCleave,	Rose,	Yewchuk—56.

NAYS

Messrs.

		wiessis.		
Badanai,	Deachman,	Isabelle,	Mahoney,	Serré,
Barrett,	De Bané,	Jerome,	Marceau,	Smith
Basford,	Drury,	Kaplan,	Marchand	(Northumberland-
Béchard,	Dubé,	Lachance,	(Langelier),	Miramichi),
Benson,	Dupras,	Laing	Marchand	Smith (Saint-Jean),
Blair,	Éthier,	(Vancouver South),	(Kamloops-	Stafford.
Borrie,	Forget,	Lajoie,	Cariboo),	Stanbury,
Boulanger,	Francis,	Lang (Saskatoon-	Munro,	Stewart (Okanagan-
Breau,	Gendron,	Humboldt),	Olson,	Kootenay),
Buchanan,	Gibson,	Langlois,	Otto,	Thomas
Caccia,	Gillespie,	Laniel,	Ouellet,	(Maisonneuve-
Cafik,	Goode,	Leblanc (Laurier),	Pelletier,	Rosemont),
Chappell,	Goyer,	Lefebvre,	Penner,	Trudeau,
Clermont,	Gray,	Legault,	Pepin,	Trudel,
Cobbe,	Groos,	Lessard (LaSalle),	Portelance,	Turner (Ottawa-
Comtois,	Guay (St. Boniface),	L'Heureux,	Pringle,	Carleton).
Corbin,	Guilbault,	Macdonald	Reid,	Wahn,
Corriveau,	Haidasz,	(Rosedale),	Richardson,	Walker.
Cullen,	Hopkins,	MacEachen,	Roberts,	Watson.
Cyr,	Howard (Okanagan	MacGuigan,	Robinson,	Weatherhead,
Danson,	Boundary),	Mackasey,	Rochon,	Whelan,
Davis,	Hymmen,	McBride,	Roy (Laval),	Whiting—97.

And the question being put on the main motion, it was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 23)

YEAS

Messrs.

Alkenbrack,	Broadbent,	Danforth,	Forrestall.	Harding,
Barnett,	Burton,	Douglas,	Gilbert.	Horner.
Bell,	Cadieu,	Fairweather.	Gleave,	Howard (Skeena).
Benjamin,	Crouse,	Flemming,	Grills,	Knight.
24960-23				9 ,