measures should be deferred for the time being. During the 60-day period, Ministers will pay particular attention to the actual performance of the Interstate Commerce Commission in its treatment of Canadian applicants, as well as to measures taken by the Administration to end discrimination against Canadian truckers.

The Council of Ministers directed the Standing Committee on Motor Carriers of CCMTA to begin immediate preparation of possible courses of action which could be undertaken by Canadian jurisdictions if the issue is not satisfactorily resolved. The Council also directed the Standing Committee to start to develop detailed information on the current involvements of American carriers in transborder operations in order to better identify and protect Canadian interests.

In order to supervise this activity and to participate directly as advisors to the Minister of State (International Trade) in any meetings with the U.S. administration, the Council of Ministers established a special committee chaired by the Honourable Jean-Luc Pepin (Canada) and including, the Honourable James Snow (Ontario), the Honourable Henry Kroeger (Alberta), the Honourable Ron Dawe (Newfoundland) and the Honourable Samuel Uskiw (Manitoba).

The Council of Ministers expressed the hope that this crisis will be satisfactorily resolved by the U.S. government and stressed its strong support for the principle of maintaining equitable treatment of all carriers under the respective laws which obtain in each jurisdiction. Specifically, the Council endorsed the concept of closer ongoing relationships between Canadian and American transportation agencies once this crisis is resolved in order to prevent any recurrence.