		Date of			Date of
		admission			admission
					adm1551011
	Mali	28/9/60		Singapore	21/9/65
	Malta	1/12/64		Solomon Islands	19/9/78
	Mauritania	27/10/61		Somalia	20/9/60
*	Mexico		;	South Africa	20/ 5/ 00
	Mongolia	27/10/61		Spain	14/12/55
	Morocco	12/11/56		Sri Lanka	14/12/55
	Mozambique	12/9/75		Sudan	12/11/56
	Nepal	14/12/55		Surinam	4/12/75
*	Netherlands			Swaziland	24/9/68
*	New Zealand			Sweden	19/11/46
*	Nicaragua		*	Syria	1)/11/40
	Niger	20/9/60		Tanzania	14/12/61
	Nigeria	7/10/60		Thailand	16/12/46
*	Norway			Togo	20/9/60
	Oman	7/10/71		Trinidad and Tobago	18/9/62
	Pakistan	30/9/60		Tunisia	12/11/56
*	Panama		*	Turkey	12/11/50
	Papua New Guinea	10/10/75		Uganda	25/10/62
*	Paraguay	isn bewoorst to Republ	*	Ukrainian SSR	23/10/02
*	Peru			Union of Soviet	
*	Philippines			Socialist Republics	
*	Poland			United Arab Emirates	9/12/71
	Portugal	14/12/55	*	United Kingdom	9/12//1
	Qatar	21/9/71		United States of	
	Romania	14/12/55		America	
	Rwanda	18/9/62		Upper Volta	20/0/00
	Samoa	15/12/76	*	Uruguay	20/9/60
	Sao Tomé and			Venezuela	
	Principe	16/9/75		Viet Nam	20/0/77
*	Saudi Arabia	10/ 5/ 13		Yemen	20/9/77
	Senegal	28/9/60	*	Yugoslavia	30/9/47
	Seychelles	21/9/76		Zaire	00/0///
	Sierra Leone	27/9/61		Zambia	20/9/60
	1418 12008	21/3/01		Janno TG	1/12/64

## OBSERVERS

Observer status is not provided for in the UN Charter. Over the years, however the Secretary-General has granted such a status to non-member states with some form of association with the UN system, e.g. membership in the Specialized Agencies. Five countries currently maintain observer missions in New York: Switzerland, Monaco, the Holy See, the Republic of Korea and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea.

Through special resolutions, the General Assembly has also granted observer status to six associations of states: the OAS, the Arab League, the OAU, the EEC the COMECON and the Islamic Conference. The Palestine Liberation Organization was also granted observer status by the General Assembly in 1974. At the thirty-first session, the General Assembly agreed to the application of the Commonwealth Secretariat for observer status, which Canada co-sponsored. Observer status was also granted to the South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO).