## 1944. No. 37

Who met at Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, on July 1, 1944, under the Emporary Presidency of The Honourable Henry Morgenthau, Jr., Chairman the Delegation of the United States of America.

The Honourable Henrik de Kauffmann, Danish Minister at Washington, attended the Inaugural Plenary Session in response to an invitation of the Government of the United States to be present in a personal capacity. The Conference, on the proposal of its Committee on Credentials, extended a imilar invitation for the remaining sessions of the Conference.

The Economic, Financial, and Transit Department of the League of Nations, The Economic, Financial, and Fransie Department Interim Commission on International Labour Office, the United Nations Interim Commission on Rehabilitation and Agriculture, and the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation ininistration were each represented by one observer at the Inaugural Plenary Their representation was in response to an invitation of the Governthe United States, and either the observers or their alternates attended the subsequent sessions in accordance with the resolution presented by the Committee on Credentials and adopted by the Conference. The observers and heir alternates are listed below:

ECONOMIC, FINANCIAL, AND TRANSIT DEPARTMENT OF THE LEAGUE OF NATIONS Alexander Loveday, Director.

held on July 3, 1944, the Conference elec-composed of the following Chairmen of D

Ragnar Nurkse; Alternate.

INTERNATIONAL LABOUR OFFICE

Edward J. Phelan, Acting Director.

C. Wilfred Jenks, Legal Adviser; and E. J. Riches, Acting Chief, Economic and Statistical Section; Alternates.

UNITED NATIONS INTERIM COMMISSION OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE

Edward Twentyman, Delegate from the United Kingdom.

UNITED NATIONS RELIEF AND REHABILITATION ADMINISTRATION

A. H. Feller, General Counsel; or

Mieczyslaw Sokolowski, Financial Adviser.

Warren Kelchner, Chief of the Division of International Conferences, <sup>g</sup> the President of the United States, was designated, with the approval <sup>g</sup> the President of the United States, as Secretary General of the Conference; <sup>halk</sup> C Tresident of the United States, as Scottary Distribution of the United Coe, Assistant Administrator, Foreign Economic Administration of the <sup>rank</sup> Coe, Assistant Administrator, Foreign Economic Administrator, Professor <sup>thited</sup> States, as Technical Secretary General; and Philip C. Jessup, Professor <sup>t</sup> International Law at Columbia University, New York, New York, as Assistant Secretary General.

The Honourable Henry Morgenthau, Jr., Chairman of the Confer-the United States of America, was elected permanent President of the Confer-the United States of America, beld on July 1, 1944. The Honourable Henry Morgenthau, Jr., Chairman of the Delegation of <sup>th</sup>Ce at the Inaugural Plenary Session held on July 1, 1944.

M. S. Stepanov, the Chairman of the Delegation of the Delegation of Belgium; and Leslie Brazilist Republics; Arthur de Souza Costa, the Chairman of the Delegation of Belgium; and Leslie [4] Mc Camille Gutt, the Chairman of the Delegation of Australia, were elected Vice-<sup>(a</sup>il); Camille Gutt, the Chairman of the Delegation of Bergium, and Vice-Melville, the Chairman of the Delegation of Australia, were elected Vice-<sup>Melville</sup>, the Chairman residents of the Conference.

Committees constituted by the Conference: The Temporary President appointed the following members of the General