- 4. If a gallon of water weighs 10 pounds and 25 gallons fill 4 cubic feet; find the depth of 10 tons of water in a rectangular cistern whose bottom is 8 feet square. [14]
- 5. A wall 18 yards long and 15 feet high contains 90 cubic yards. How many cords of stone would have been required for it altogether if it had been one foot wider? [14]

## THE BRITISH NORTH AMERICA ACT.

The preamble of the Act states that:

"The Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick have expressed their Desire to be federally united into One Dominion under the Crown of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, with a Constitution similar in Principle to that of the United Kingdom.

"It is expedient, not only that the Constitution of the Legislative Authority in the Dominion be provided for, but also that the Nature of the Executive Government therein be declared.

"Also that, It is expedient that Provision be made for the eventua: Admission into the Union of other Parts of British North America."

This last clause having been deemed doubtful or insufficient authority, for the admission of New Provinces into confederation, an act called "The British North America Act, 1871," was passed by the Imperial Parliament making full provision for the admission of new Provinces and for other matters relating thereto.

Resolution:

"Be it therefore enacted and declared by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Lords Spiritual and Temporal, and Commons, in this present Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:"

Short Title:

"This Act may be cited as the British North America Act, 1867."

Application of Provisions referring to the Queen:

"The Provisions of this Act referring to Her Majesty the Queen extend also to the Heirs and Successors of Her Majesty, Kings and Queens of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland."

Name of Confederating Provinces:

Provision is next made that the name Canada be given by proclamation to the united Provinces, within six months of the pas ing of this Act.

Division of Old Canada:

The Province of Canada was divided into two Provinces—Upper Canada and Lower Canada—named, respectively, Ontario and Quebec.

Boundaries of Provinces, 1867:

Provision is next made that the boundaries of Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick remain unchanged. This provision is modified by the following:

British North America Act, 1871, clause 3—"The Parliament of Canada may from Time to Time, with the consent of the Legislature of any Province of the said Dominion, increase, diminish, or otherwise alter the limits of such Province, upon such terms and conditions as may be agreed to by the said Legislature, and may, with the like consent, make provision respecting the effect and operation of any such increase or diminution or alteration of Territory in relation to any Province affected thereby."

List of Provinces, with dates of admission: 1867. Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick.

1870. Manitoba.

1871. British Columbia.

1873. Prince Edward Island.

B. N. A. Act, 1871, clause 4:

"The Parliament of Canada may from Time to Time make provision for the administration, peace, order, and good government of any Territory not for the time being included in any Province."

No territory has been acquired by the Dominion Government since 1873.

Decennial Census:

"In the general census of the Population of Canada which is hereby required to be taken in the year one thousand eight hundred and seventy-one, and in every Tenth Year thereafter, the respective Populations of the Four Provinces shall be distinguished."

The provisions of this clause apply to the whole Dominion.