Sir Walter Scott was born at Edinburgh on 15th August 1771, educated at Edinburgh High School and University, knighted in 1820, and died at Abbotsford on 21st September 1832. His chief novels are: Waverley (1814), Guy Mannering (1815), The Antiquary (1816), Old Mortality (1816), Rob Roy (1817), The Heart of Midlothian (1818), The Bride of Lammermoor (1819), The Legend of Montrose (1819), Ivanhoe (1819), The Monastery (1820), The Abbot (1820), Kenilworth (1821), The Pirate (1821), The Fortunes of Nigel (1822), Quentin Durward (1823), St. Ronan's Well (1823), Redgauntlet (1824), The Betrothed (1825), The Talisman (1825), Woodstock (1826), Chronicles of the Canongate (1827), and The Fair Maid of Perth (1828); all of which are included in the Nelson Classics, together with his Journal (two volumes). A number appear also in the Winchester Classics.