Division

Sulatycky,	Turner
Thomas	(Ottawa-Carleton),
(Maisonneuve).	Wahn,
Trudeau.	Watson,
Trudel.	Whelan,
Turner	Whicher,
(London East),	Whiting,
	Yanakis—103.

Mr. Speaker: The House will now proceed to Motion No. 25, in the name of the hon. member for Halifax-East Hants (Mr. Mc-Cleave), which reads as follows:

That Bill C-144, An Act to provide for the management of the water resources of Canada including research and the planning and implementation of programs relating to the conservation, development and utilization of water resources be amended by inserting a new clause 37:

'Construction

37. This Act shall not be construed to authorize any treaty or convention with respect to exporting the water resources of Canada, and no treaty, convention or agreement with respect to such export shall be binding unless authorized by the Parliament of Canada.'

and by renumbering the subsequent clause accordingly.

All those in favour of the motion will please say, yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

• (3:50 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: Those against will please say, nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion negatived on division.

Motion No. 25 (Mr. McCleave) negatived.

Mr. Speaker: The House will now proceed to Motion No. 4.

[Translation]

Mr. Louis-Roland Comeau (South Western Nova) moved:

(4) That Bill C-144, An Act to provide for the management of the water resources of Canada including research and the planning and implementation of programs relating to the conservation, development and utilization of water resources be amended by inserting therein, next after clause 2 thereof, the following:

"Ministerial Responsibility

3. The duties, powers and functions of the Minister extend to and include all matters

(a) not exclusively assigned to the legislatures of the provinces or by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the government of Canada that relate to the control and management of the water resources of Canada and to the preservation, improvement and restoration of the quality of the national environment by the prevention, elim-

[Mr. Speaker.]

ination and limitation of the pollution of water resources and the pollution of any natural element that in any way might or does pollute a water resource; and

(b) necessary or incidental to such duties, powers and functions although so assigned."

and by renumbering the subsequent clauses accordingly.

The House divided on the motion No. 4 (Mr. Comeau), which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Aiken Alkenbrack Baldwin Barnett. Beaudoin Bell Benjamin Bigg Brewin Broadbent Burton Cadieu (Meadow Lake) Coates Comeau Crouse Dinsdale Dionne Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Downey Flemming Forrestall Gauthier Gleave Godin Grills Hales Harding Harkness Horner Howe Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Lambert (Bellechasse) Lambert (Edmonton West) Laprise La Salle MacDonald (Egmont) MacEwan

Allmand

Badanai

Basford

Béchard

Beer

Blair

Blouin

Borrie

Anderson

MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) MacInnis (Mrs.) MacLean Macquarrie McGrath McKinley Marshall Mather Matte Mazankowski Monteith Moore Muir (Cape Breton-The Sydneys) Muir (Lisgar) Nesbitt Nielsen Noble Nowlan Orlikow Peddle Peters Ricard Ritchie Rodrigue Rondeau Rowland Rynard Saltsman Schumacher Scott Simpson Skoberg Skoreyko Southam Stanfield Stewart (Marquette) Tétrault Thomas (Moncton) Thompson (Red Deer) Winch Woolliams Yewchuk-80.

NAYS

Messrs:

Breau Buchanan Caccia Cadieux (Labelle) Cafik Chappell Chrétien Clermont Cobbe