PRESS RELEASE

COMMUNIQUÉ

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

A.58

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 18, 1963.

The Department of External Affairs announced today that arrangements have been completed for the Eighth Meeting of the Joint United States-Canadian Committee on Trade and Economic Affairs to convene in Washington on September 20 and 21.

Canada will be represented at this week's meeting by the Honourable Paul Martin, Secretary of State for External Affairs; the Honourable Walter Gordon, Minister of Finance; the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, Minister of Trade and Commerce; the Honourable C.M. Drury, Minister of Industry; and the Honourable Harry Hays, Minister of Agriculture.

The United States delegation at the meeting will consist of the Honourable Dean Rusk, Secretary of State; the Honourable Douglas Dillon, Secretary of the Treasury; the Honourable Luther Hodges, Secretary of Commerce; the Honourable Charles Murphy, Under Secretary of Agriculture; the Honourable George Ball, Under Secretary of State; and the Honourable John M. Kelly, Assistant Secretary of the Interior.

Meetings of the Joint Committee have been held regularly since 1953, and provide an opportunity for discussion at the Ministerial level of economic, financial and trade matters of interest to both governments. The last meeting of the Committee was in Ottawa on January 12 and 13, 1962.