

ACCESSION:

The process of becoming a contracting party to a multilateral agreement. Negotiations with established contracting parties of the WTO, for example, determine the concessions (trade liberalization) or other specific obligations a non-member country must undertake before it is entitled to full WTO membership benefits. (Accession)

ANTI-DUMPING:

Additional duties imposed by an importing country where imports that are priced at less than the "normal" price charged in the exporter's domestic market, or less than their full cost, are found to be causing material injury to the domestic industry in the importing country. (*Antidumping*)

APEC:

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation forum. Comprises 21 countries around the Pacific Rim that seek further Asia-Pacific economic cooperation. Members are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong (China), Indonesia, Japan, Korea (Republic of), Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), Thailand, United States, Vietnam. (APEC: Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique)

CA4 (Central America Four):

El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. Currently in free trade negotiations as a group with Canada. (*Groupe des quatre de l'Amérique Centrale*)

CAIRNS GROUP:

A coalition of 17 agriculture exporting countries (Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Paraguay, Philippines, South Africa, Thailand, Uruguay) that develops proposals in the context of multilateral trade negotiations. (*Groupe de Cairns*)

CCFTA:

Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement. Implemented July 5, 1997. (ALECC : Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili)

CCRFTA:

Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement. Entered into force November 1, 2002. (ALECCR : Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Costa Rica)

CIFTA:

Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement. Implemented January 1, 1997. (ALECI : Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël)

DISPUTE SETTLEMENT:

Those institutional provisions in a trade agreement that provide the means for settling differences of view between the parties. (*Réglement des différends*)

DOHA DEVELOPMENT AGENDA:

An agenda of World Trade Organization negotiations, launched at the Ministerial Conference in Doha, Qatar, in November 2001. (*Programme de Doha pour le développement*)

EFTA:

European Free Trade Association. When founded via the Stockholm Convention in May 1960, EFTA had seven members. Since its founding, the composition has changed as new members joined and others acceded to the EU. Currently, there are four members: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. (*AELE : Association européenne de libre-échange*)

FOREIGN DIRECT INVESTMENT:

The funds committed to a foreign enterprise. The investor may gain partial or total control of the enterprise. An investor who buys 10% or more of the controlling shares of a foreign enterprise makes a direct investment. (*IED : Investissement* étranger direct)

FTA:

Free Trade Agreement. Often refers to the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement that entered into force on January 1, 1989. (*ALE : Accord de libre-échange*)

FTAA:

Free Trade Area of the Americas. Proposed free trade agreement between the 34 democratic countries of the Western hemisphere. The FTAA process was conceived in Miami in 1994 and negotiations were launched in Santiago, Chile, in 1998. (*ZLEA* : *Zone de libre-échange des Amériques*)

GATT:

General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. From 1947 to 1995, the multilateral institution overseeing the global trading system, as well as the international agreement governing trade in goods (GATT 1947). As an organization, superseded by the WTO in January 1995. GATT 1994 (the agreement), which reflects amendments to the original agreement and incorporates new WTO agreements, continues to govern trade in goods. (*GATT : Accord général sur les tariff douaniers et le commerce*)