Order Paper Questions WOMEN WORKING FOR AGRICULTURE CANADA

Question No. 521-Mr. Howie:

As of the last date for which information was available, what proportion of the employees of the Department of Agriculture were women?

Hon. E. F. Whelan (Minister of Agriculture): As of January 7, 1984, there were 2,851 women employed in Agriculture Canada as compared to 7,712 men.

WESTERN GRAIN STABILIZATION FUND

Question No. 528-Mr. Mayer:

1. What was the total amount of money in the Western Grain Stabilization Fund on December 31, 1983 and what amount was contributed by the (a) Government (b) producers during the calendar year 1983?

2. How much did the accumulated surplus earn in interest in 1983?

Hon. E. F. Whelan (Minister of Agriculture):

Fund Balance (December 31, 1983) October-December federal contribution* October-December interest	\$825,536,733.94 \$ 21,034,889.28 \$ 17,520,295.52
Total	\$864,091,918.74
*Credited to the fund in January, 1984	
(a) Federal contribution (1983)	\$125,634,624.76
(b) Producer contribution (1983)	\$ 63,189,365.85
2. Interest earned (1983)	\$ 60,496,476.28

CANADIAN RADIO-TELEVISION AND TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Question No. 587-Mr. Howie:

Are any persons employed by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission and, if so, how many and what is the estimated salary expenditure in the current fiscal year and, in each of the two preceding fiscal years, what was the salary expenditure?

Hon. Francis Fox (Minister of Communications): I am informed by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission as follows: Yes, 421.

In current fiscal year—\$15,173,000; \$14,371,00—1982-83 fiscal year; \$12,501,000—1981-82 fiscal year.

NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

Question No. 595-Mr. Howie:

What are the (a) names (b) positions of the persons who occupy positions on the Executive and Board of Directors of the National Research Council of Canada and, in each case, what amount was he/she paid in respect of that position in the fiscal year ended March 31, 1983?

Mr. Rolland Dion (Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of State for Economic and Regional Development and Minister of State for Science and Technology): In so far as the National Research Council is concerned the answer is as follows:

1. Pursuant to the National Research Council Act (Section 5(1)) the Council consists of a President and not more than 21 other members to be appointed by the Governor in Council.

Members of the National Research Council of Canada March 31, 1984

Dr. L. Kerwin President National Research Council of Canada Ottawa, Ontario. K1A 0R6

Dr. R. E. Bell Director Arts, Sciences, and Technology Centre 600 Granville Street Vancouver, British Columbia, V6C 1Y9

Dr. A. Benedek President Zenon Environmental Inc. 845 Harrington Court Burlington, Ontario. L7N 3P3

Dr. A. Cabana Dean Faculty of Science Sherbrooke University Sherbrooke, Quebec. J1K 2R1

Miss J. Clark Ogilvy & Renault 1981 McGill College Avenue Montreal, Quebec. H3A 3C1

Dr. B. M. Craig Director Prairie Regional Laboratory National Research Council of Canada 110 Gymnasium Road, University Campus Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. S7N 0W9 Mr. W. A. Cumming Executive Vice-President National Research Council of Canada Ottawa, Ontario. K1A 0R6

Mr. R. De Coster President Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada 2172 Parc Bourbonnière Sillery, Quebec. G1T1B4

Dr. D. J. Doyle President Doyle Tech Corp. Suite 202 4019 Carling Avenue Kanata, Ontario. K2K 2A3

Dr. F. E. F. Dunford Associate Professor Faculty of Administrative Studies University of Manitoba Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2

Mr. D. A. Eisenhauer President Atlantic Bridge Co. Limited 81 Tannery Road P.O. Box 1120 Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, BOJ 2CO

Dr. U. M. Franklin Professor Department of Metallurgy and Materials Science University of Toronto Toronto, Ontario. M5S 1A4