## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

## FRIDAY, March 19, 1937.

The Standing Committee on Railways and Shipping owned, operated and controlled by the government met at 11 a.m., Mr. Young, acting chairman, presiding.

Members present: Messrs. Barber, Beaubier, Beaubien, Bothwell, Elliott (Kindersley), Ferland, Hanson, Heaps, Howden, Howe, Kinley, McKinnon (Kenora-Rainy River), Ryan, Stewart, Vien, Young.

In attendance: Mr. V. I. Smart, Deputy Minister of Transport; Mr. A. V. Franklin, Railway Auditor, Department of Finance, and officials of the Canadian National Railways, including Mr. S. J. Hungerford, President; Mr. R. C. Vaughan, Vice-President of Purchases and Stores Department; Mr. W. M. Armstrong, Bureau of Economics; Mr. J. B. MacLaren, Comptroller; Mr. T. H. Cooper, Assistant Comptroller, and Mr. R. B. Teakle, General Manager, Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships, Limited.

Answers to questions put by members of the Committee at the previous sitting were supplied by officials of the C.N.R., these answers appearing in this day's minutes of evidence.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of the Annual Report of the Canadian Government Merchant Marine and the Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships, Limited.

Report adopted.

The Canadian National Railways and Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships' Budget for the year 1937 was considered and adopted.

The following estimates referred to the Committee on March 15 were considered and adopted, viz:---

Vote No. 96-Canadian National Railways, Eastern Lines (Maritime Freight Rates Act), \$1,800,000;

Vote No. 97—Railways other than the C.N.R. Lines (Maritime Freight Rates Act), \$700,000;

Vote No. 293—Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships, Limited, capital expenditure, \$48,500;

Vote No. 361—Amount to be applied by the Canadian National Railway Company in payment of net income deficit, 1937, \$35,000,000;

Vote No. 362—Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships, Limited, working capital, \$500,000.

The Committee then adjourned until Tuesday, March 23, at 11 a.m.

R. ARSENAULT, Clerk of the Committee.