The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, announced that today in Vienna the Canadian Permanent Representative to the International Atomic Energy Agency and Canadian Ambassador to Austria, N. F. H. Berlis, signed, on behalf of the Government of Canada, an agreement with the International Atomic Energy Agency providing for the application of safeguards to Canada's nuclear programme. Signing on behalf of the IAEA was Dr. Sigvard Eklund, Director General. This agreement discharges Canada's obligations under Article III.l of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) which requires adherents to the Treaty to accept safeguards set forth in an agreement with the IAEA for the exclusive purpose of verifying that there has been no diversion of nuclear energy from peaceful uses to nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices.

Canada is among the first of the adherents to NPT concluding a safeguards agreement with the IAEA and the first major non-nuclear weapon state advanced in the technology of atomic energy to sign such an agreement with the IAEA.

Over sixty non-nuclear weapons states have ratified NPT and those with nuclear programmes either have concluded or are expected to conclude safeguards agreements with the IAEA similar to Canada's agreement. Another thirty have signed NPT and are expected to ratify the Treaty later this year, among them Japan and the countries of the European Economic Community. Both the United Kingdom and the United States, although as nuclear weapons states not required to accept safeguards under the terms of the NPT, have offered to place their peaceful nuclear activities under IAEA inspection.

Later this year inspectors from the IAEA will carry out safeguards inspections in Canada. They will work closely with officers of the Atomic Energy Control Board of Canada.