## Background - Board of Directors:

The U.S. Board members are: Chair, Dr. Patti McGill Peterson, President of St. Lawrence University in Canton, N.Y.; Dr. John Brademas, President of New York University; Richard Christian, Associate Dean of the J.L. Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University; Michael Miles, Chairman, Kraft General Foods; Richard Munro, Chairman and C.E.O. Time Inc. and the Honorable Paul H. Robinson, Jr., former U.S. Ambassador to Canada.

Canadian Board members are: George Cooper, Barrister, Halifax (Secretary to the Board); Philippe de Gaspé Beaubien, Chairman of the Board and C.E.O. of Gasbeau Inc.; Dr. Marsha Hanen, President University of Winnipeg; Nancy Jackman, social activist and philanthropist from Toronto; and Sydney Jackson, Vice Chairman, Manufacturers Life (Treasurer). Sixth member to be announced.

An Advisory Committee to the Board is comprised of non-voting members: His Excellency Derek Burney, Canadian Ambassador to the U.S.; His Excellency Edward N. Ney, American Ambassador to Canada; Michael Phillips, Assistant Deputy Minister, U.S. Relations for the Department of External Affairs and International Trade and Mr. Dell Pendergrast, Minister, Counselor for Public Affairs of the American Embassy in Ottawa.

## Executive Director - Dr. Victor Konrad:

The first Executive Director of the Foundation, Dr. Victor Konrad is the former Director of the Canadian-American Center, University of Maine and current President of the Association for Canadian Studies in the U.S. (ACSUS). Dr. Konrad, who has a PhD. in Geography, has devoted 15 years to Canadian Studies in the U.S. as a program administrator and as a scholar. He has published over 30 articles and papers on the Canada/U.S. borderland relationship and other topics.