April 17, 1986

COMMONS DEBATES

Andre

Attewell

Beatty Belsher

Bernier

Bertrand

Bissonnette

Bouchard

Bourgault

Bover

Bradley

Cardiff

Clinch

Collins

Comeau

Cooper

Corbett

Cossitt

Crofton

Crouse

Darling

Dick

Domm

Dorin

Fennell

Ferland

Fretz

Friesen

Girard

Gottselig

Fontaine

Desjardins

Epp (Provencher)

Brightwell

Champagne

(Champlain)

Crosbie (St. John's West)

Crosby (Halifax West)

Some Hon. Members: Question.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): The question is on Motion No. 39.

Mr. Deans: I rise on a point of order, Mr. Speaker. We already in fact dealt with that amendment. We are now dealing with the amendment of the Hon. Member for Notre-Dame-de-Grâce-Lachine East (Mr. Allmand).

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Thank you. The question is on Motion No. 39A standing in the name of the Hon. Member for Notre-Dame-de-Grâce-Lachine East. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon, Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those in favour please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Pursuant to Standing Order 114(11), the recorded division on the proposed motion stands deferred.

The House will now proceed with the recorded divisions deferred at the report stage of Bill C-62, An Act respecting employment equity.

Call in the Members.

And the division bells having rung:

• (1300)

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. The first question is on Motion No. 1. Mr. Nystrom moves:

Motion No. 1

That Bill C-62, be amended in Clause 2 by striking out line 6 at page 1 and substituting the following therefor:

"2. The purpose of this Act is to promote and encourage".

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Nystrom), which was negatived on the following division:

Employment Equity

(Division No. 219)

YEAS Members

NAYS

Allmand	Finestone
Althouse	Fulton
Baker	Gagliano
Benjamin	Gauthier
Berger	Heap
Blackburn	Johnston
(Brant)	(Saint-Henri-West-
Blaikie	mount)
Caccia	Kaplan
Cassidy	Keeper
Copps	Langdon
Deans	Manly
de Corneille	McCurdy
Epp	Mitchell
(Thunder Bay-Nipigon)	Murphy

Grisé

Gurhin

Halliday

Hardey

Hawkes

Hees

Hicks

Hockin

Horner

Howie

Hudon

Jardine

Jelinek

Johnson

Joncas

Lesick

Lewis

Malone

Mantha

Marin

Martin

Mayer

Nicholson (Trinity) Orlikow Parry Penner Pépin Riis Robinson Rodriguez Rossi Tobin Waddell Young-38

Members Gustafson Hamilton Hnatyshyn (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Lawrence MacDonald (Kingston and the Islands) MacDougall (Timiskaming) Mazankowski McCrossan McCuish McDermid McGrath McKenzie McKinnon McKnight Merrithew

Minaker Mitges Murta Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Nielsen O'Neil Oostrom Paproski Pennock Plamondon Plourde Porter Price Redway Reid St. Germain St-Julien Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Sparrow Stackhouse Stevens Suluk Taylor Thacker Towers Tremblay (Québec-Est) Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Vézina Vincent Warner Weiner Wenman Winegard-111.

Greenaway • (1310)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost. I take it there is an agreement.

Mr. Deans: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. There are two brief matters which I want to raise. It is my understanding that we might agree to have the vote we have just taken count for all the outstanding votes. However, it has been brought to my attention that on Motion No. 31A the yeas and nays were not taken. If we could include that, then all the votes would be concluded.