Opened for signature on 1 March 1980, the Convention entered into force on 3 September 1981. As of 31 May 1987, 93 countries had consented to be bound by its provisions, either through ratification or accession. These countries are:

Angola Iraq Argentina Ireland Australia Italy Austria Jamaica Bangladesh Japan Barbados Kenva Belgium Lao People's Democratic Republic Bhutan Liberia Brazil Malawi Bulgaria Mali Byelorussian Soviet Mauritius Socialist Republic Mexico Canada Mongolia Cape Verde New Zealand China Nicaraqua Colombia Nigeria Congo Norway Costa Rica Panama Cuba Paraguay Cyprus Peru Czechoslovakia Philippines Democratic Yemen Poland Denmark Portugal Dominica Republic of Korea Dominican Republic Romania Ecuador Rwanda Egypt Saint Christopher and Nevis El Salvador Saint Lucia Equatorial Guinea Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Ethiopia Senegal Finland Spain France Sri Lanka Gabon Sweden German Democratic Thailand Republic Togo Germany Tunisia (Federal Republic of) Turkey Ghana Uganda Greece Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic Guatemala Union of Soviet Socialist Republics Guinea United Kingdom of Great Britain and Guinea-Bissau Northern Ireland Guyana United Republic of Tanzania Haiti Uruquay Honduras Venezuela Hungary Viet Nam

The full text of the Convention is set out in the pages that follow.

Yugoslavia

Zaire Zambia

Iceland

Indonesia