imports, the development of facilities of transportation and communications, finance, and the records of public education, temperance and criminality.

## Historical and geographical.

Before proceeding, however, to discuss in detail the statistics of the fifty years 1867 to 1917, it is advisable very briefly to recall the chief events that led to Confederation in 1867; so that those who may not have followed very closely the development of our Overseas Dominions may better appreciate the circumstances under which the progress to be described has been achieved.

In 1763 Canada, with all its dependencies, passed from French to British rule by the Treaty of Paris, signed on February 10 of that year. From this date to 1774 the country was under military rule. In 1774 the Quebec Act of the Imperial Parliament (14 Geo. III. c. 83) gave French-Canadians the free exercise of the Roman Catholic religion, the enjoyment of their civil rights, and the protection of their own civil laws and customs. The Act annexed large territories to the province of Quebec, and provided for the appointment by the Crown of a Legislative Council and for the administration of the criminal law as in England. In 1791 the country then called Canada was divided by Act of the Imperial Parliament (31 Geo. III. c. 31) into Upper Canada (now Ontario) and Lower Canada (now Quebec), and the Act established a constitution for each, with a Legislature consisting of a Legislative Council and a Legislative Assembly. On December 24, 1814, the Treaty of Ghent ended the two years' war with the United States, and in 1837 a rebellion in Upper and Lower Canada led to the mission of Lord Durham, whose report of January, 1839, recommending "responsible government," paved the way for the complete autonomy which was eventually acquired. In 1841 the two provinces were reunited under the name of the province of Canada by an Imperial Act (3-4 Vict., c. 35), which established responsible government. The Legislature under this Act consisted of a Legislative Council of forty members, appointed for life by the Crown, and a Legislative Assembly of eighty-four members elected by the people. In 1853 the members of the Legislative Assembly were increased in number to 130; and in 1856 the Legislative Council became an elective chamber. In 1860 the Prince of Wales (afterwards King Edward VII) laid the corner stone of the Parliamentary Buildings at Ottawa, and in 1865 the seat of Government of the province of Canada was transferred to Ottawa from Quebec. On June 8, 1866, the Provincial Parliament, on the occasion of its first session in the new buildings, passed resolutions in favour of

2