so marked as to become a matter of most favorable comment by writers and public speakers.

The North-West Territories are divided into districts, viz: Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabasca, Saskatchewan with representative, but not responsible government. In addition to these partially settled and organized districts, the following divisions have also been made in the unsettled region: Franklin, Keewatin, Mackenzie, Ungava and Yukon.

The total population of the North-West Territory in 1901 was 211,649; its area being 2,497,427 square miles.

The Legislative Power and Local Government consists of an assembly of thirty-one members chosen by ballot on a very liberal franchise based on residence and household qualifications, Indians being excluded. It elects its own speaker, has a duration of four years unless sooner dissolved, and meets once every year.

Members do not require a property qualification and are paid a small indemnity. The Legislative powers are defined by a Dominion Act and are as nearly as practicable, those of provincial assemblies. Municipal institutions have been established in towns and rural districts in imitation of the Ontario system.

The gold discoveries in the Yukon have rendered it necessary to provide a simple system of government for that region.

A commissioner, a council partly elective, and judges, are appointed by the Dominion Government under authority given by the Parliament of Canada The population of the Yukon is 27,000.

Settlers to the North-West Territories from all points find well developed means for travel in the great Canadian Pacific Railway, which crosses the continent from Montreal on the east to Vancouver on the west, with numerous branches extending to many towns which would not otherwise be enabled to receive the impetus that immigration is giving to the country—and they are pouring into the country by the thousand, rapidly changing the general appearance of same

