APPENDIX XVIII.

GENERAL ORDER NO. 18 OF 1916, RELATING TO THE ORGANIZATION OF THE TEN MILITARY DISTRICTS.

ORGANIZATION.

General Order 59-(1) of April, 1911, and all orders referred to therein are hereby cancelled, and the following is substituted therefor:—

- 1. In pursuance of the authority contained in Section 21-(a) of the Militia Act the hereinafter mentioned portions of Canada are formed into Military Districts as hereinafter described, namely,—
- 2. The Counties of Essex, Kent, Lambton, Elgin, Middlesex, Oxford, Waterloo, Wellington, Perth, Huron and Bruce are formed into a Western Ontario Military District, to be known as the "Military District No. 1," with Headquarters at London, Ontario.
- 3. The Counties of Lincoln, Welland, Haldimand, Norfolk, Brant, Wentworth, Halton, Peel, York, Ontario, Grey, Dufferin, Simcoe; the Districts of Muskoka, Parry Sound, Algoma and Nipissing, north of the Mattawa and French Rivers (including the Townships of Ferris and Bonfield) are formed into a Central Ontario Military District to be known as the "Military District No. 2," with Headquarters at Toronto, Ontario.
- 4. The Counties of Durham, Northumberland, Victoria, Peterborough, Hastings, Prince Edward, Lennox, Addington, Frontenac, Haliburton, Carleton, Dundas, Glengarry, Renfrew, Russell, Stormont, Grenville, Lanark, Leeds, Prescott, the District of Nipissing south of Mattawa River (exclusive of Townships of Ferris and Bonfield), in the Province of Ontario, and the Counties of Wright, Labelle and Pontiac, in the Province of Quebec, are formed into an Eastern Ontario Military District, to be known as the "Military District No. 3," with Headquarters at Kingston, Ontario.
- 5. The Counties of Jacques Cartier, Hochelaga, Laval, Vaudreuil, Soulanges, Napierville, Beauharnois, Chateauguay, Huntingdon, Laprairie, Argenteuil, Terrebonne, Two Mountains, Montcalm, L'Assomption, Joliette, Berthier, Maskinonge,