regard its vote as a vote of non-confidence in the government. This is the essence of the matter which is before us. It seems to me that the conditions or explanations which are sought by the hon, member through his amendment do not relate to the essence of the motion which is before the house.

I should like to refer hon, members to the leading citation on this point. I have reference to citation 203 (1) of Beauchesne's fourth edition, which reads in part as follows:

It is an imperative rule that every amendment must be relevant to the question on which the amendment is proposed.

## [Translation]

I take the liberty of asking the hon. members to refer to the same citation of Beauchesne's fourth edition, that is paragraph 5 and I quote:

An amendment was ruled out because it raised a new question which could only be considered on a distinct motion after notice.

That amendment is very similar to that moved by the hon. member for Lapointe (Mr. Grégoire) a few days ago. After consideration, I had ruled that it raised a new proposition and that such an amendment could only be placed before the house by way of a substantive motion with a notice required by our standing orders.

For all those reasons, I do not think that I can accept the amendment of the hon. member.

• (3:10 p.m.)

[English]

Is the house ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. Pearson) which was agreed to on the following division:

Division YEAS

Messrs:

Allmand Andras Asselin (Richmond-

Wolfe) Badanai Basford Batten Béchard

Addison

Beer Benson Berger Blouin Boulanger Brown

Byrne Cadieux Cameron (High Park)

Cantin Caouette Caron Cashin Chatwood Choquette Chrétien Clermont Comtois

Côté (Dorchester) Côté (Longueuil) Côté (Nicolet-Yamaska)

Cowan Crossman Davis Deachman Dionne Drury Dubé Duquet Émard Ethier Faulkner Forest Foy Gauthier Gendron Godin Gordon Goyer Gray Greene

Groos Guay Habel Haidasz Harley

Honey Hopkins Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Klein

Laflamme Laing LaMarsh (Miss) Langlois (Chicoutimi) Langlois (Mégantic)

Laniel Laprise Latulippe Laverdière Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lefebvre

Lefebvre
Legault
Lessard
Lind
Loiselle
Macaluso
Macdonald (Rosedale)

MacEachen

Mackasey McIlraith McLean (Charlotte)

McNulty McWilliam Marchand

Martin (Essex East)
Matheson

Matheson Matte Mongrain Morison Munro Neveu Nicholson Nixon Noël O'Keefe Olson Orange Otto Ouellet Pearson Pelletier Pennell

Prud'homme Racine Reid Richard Rideout (Mrs.) Robichaud Rochon Rock Roxburgh Rvan Sauvé Sharp Simard Stafford Stanbury Stewart Tardif

Pepin

Pilon

Teillet Thomas (Maisonneuve-

Rosemont)
Tolmie
Tremblay
Trudeau
Tucker
Turner
Wahn
Walker

Watson (Châteauguay-Huntingdon-Laprairie)

Whelan Winters Yanakis—138.

ir. Speaker,