# MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT

OF THE

# HON. JOHN JOSEPH CALDWELL ABBOTT, D.C.L., Q.C.

[Created a Knight Commander of the Order of St. Michael and St. George, 24th May, 1892]

AT THE OPENING OF THE

## SECOND SESSION OF THE SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

### 1892

President of the Council (Premier)	Hon. JOHN JOSEPH CALDWELL ABBOTT, D.C.L., Q.C.
Minister of Militia and Defence	Hon. MACKENZIE BOWELL.
Postmaster General	Hon. Sir Adolphe P. Caron, K.C.M.G., Q.C.
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. JOHN CARLING.
Minister of Inland Revenue	Hon. JOHN COSTIGAN.
Without Portfolio	Hon. FRANK SMITH.
Minister of Customs	Hon. JOSEPH ADOLPHE CHAPLRAU, LL.D., Q.C.
Minister of Justice	Sir John Sparrow David Thompson, K.C.M.G.,Q.C
Minister of Finance	Hon. GEORGE EULAS FOSTER.
Minister of Marine and Fisheries	HON. CHARLES HIBBERT TUPPER, LL.B., Q.C.
Minister of Railways and Canals	Hon. JOHN GRAHAM HAGGART.
Minister of the Interior	Hon. Edgar Dewdney.
Minister of Public Works	Hon. JOSEPH ALDRIC OUIMET, LL.B., Q.C.
Secretary of State	Hon. JAMES COLEBROOKE PATTERSON.

Clerk of the Privy Council

JOHN JOSEPH MCGEE, Esq.

#### OFFICERS OF THE HOUSE OF COMMONS:

Hon. PETER WHITE		-	-	~	-			Speaker.
JOSEPH G. H. BEBGERON	, M.P.		-		-	-	-	Deputy Speaker.
JOHN G. BOURINOT, Esq		-	<b>.</b>		-	-		Clerk of the House.
FRANÇOIS FORTUNAT RO	ULEAU, ]	Esq.	-	-	-			Clerk Assistant.
LieutCol. HENBY ROBI	ERT SMI	TH -	-	-	~	-	-	Serjeant-at-Arms.

#### **OFFICIAL REPORTERS:**

GEORGE B. BRADLEY -	-	 	Chief Reporter.
Stephen A. Abbott		 	)
E. Joseph Duggan -	-	 	
ALBERT HORTON		 	
F. R. MARCEAU *	-	 	Reporters.
J. O. MARCEAU	<sup>.</sup>	 	Lisebor iers.
THOS. JOHN RICHARDSON	-	 	
THOS. P. OWENS		 	
Alphonse Desjardins†	-	 	J
John Chas. Boyce		 <b></b>	Assistant to Chief Reporter.

\* Died 4th April, 1892.

+ Alphonse Desjardins, appointed 22nd April, 1892.