the Secretary-General investigate the problem (the resolution was adopted by a vote of 24 in favour, 10 against (including Canada) because of the Secretary-General's clear opposition to taking over this task. Previously the Canadian Delegation had supported an amendment to this resolution which would have merely drawn the attention of the Secretary-General to the problem and suggested that he offer his comments and advice to the General Assembly when he deemed it appropriate to do so. However, this amendment was rejected by a two-vote majority. Another proposal of substance before the Fourth Committee sought an opinion from the Sixth (Legal) Committee as to "what legal remedies are open . . . to ensure that the Union of South Africa fulfils the obligations assumed by it under the Mandate, pending the placing of South West Africa under the International Trusteeship System". This resolution underwent a major alteration in the Fourth Committee with the adoption of an amendment entrusting the task of finding "legal remedies" to the Committee on South West Africa rather than the Sixth (Legal) Committee. Canada abstained on this amended resolution mainly because the Secretary-General had already been requested to investigate the situation, and also because the question asked of the Committee on South West Africa was a leading one which prejudged the issue. The ninth resolution called for an increase from seven to nine members in the composition of the Committee on South West Africa. The proposed increase in membership was thought to be advisable by many members of the Fourth Committee because of the increased membership of the United Nations since 1955. It was the opinion of the Canadian Delegation that the Committee on South West Africa had about exhausted its usefulness in view of the persistent refusal of the Government of South Africa to co-operate with it, and there seemed to be no point in increasing its membership at this time. However, although the Canadian Delegation had voted in favour of the establishment of the Committee¹ and also for the Committee's reconstitution² (although the Canadian Delegate questioned in 1953 the notion of permanency implied in the 1953 resolution³ reconstituting the Committee), the Delegation could find no justification for the expansion of its membership from seven to nine and therefore abstained on the resolution⁴ which was adopted by a vote of 46-0 with 10 abstentions (including Canada).

¹See Canada and the United Nations 1950, p. 130.

²See Canada and the United Nations 1953-54, pp. 91-92.

³See General Assembly resolution 749 A (VIII).

⁴General Assembly resolution 494 (XI). The nine members of the Committee on South West Africa are: Brazil, Ethiopia, Finland, Mexico, Pakistan, Syria, Thailand, the United States and Uruguay.