III

THE COUNCILS, THE COURT AND THE SECRETARIAT

Security Council

The Security Council has a primary responsibility in the United Nations for the maintenance of international peace and security; its functions, therefore, are divided mainly between the pacific settlement of disputes and action with respect to threats to the peace, breaches of the peace and acts of agression. Its decisions are made by an affirmative vote of any seven of its present total of 11 members, including the concurrent votes of the five permanent members of the Council, though decisions on procedural matters require only a majority of any seven members. If a member is a party to a dispute referred to the Council, it is required to abstain from voting with respect to measures for the pacific settlement of the dispute.

In 1964, the Security Council was composed of Britain, China, France, the Soviet Union and the United States as permanent members and Bolivia, Brazil, Czechoslovakia, Ivory Coast, Morocco and Norway as non-permanent members. In December 1964, the General Assembly named the Netherlands and Uruguay to succeed Norway and Brazil for the normal two-year period, confirmed the split-term arrangement agreed on in 1963, in which Malaysia would succeed Czechoslovakia for 1965, and agreed that the remaining vacancy should be split, Jordan filling it in 1965 and Mali in 1966. Each, however, will receive a full two-year term if the Charter amendments of 1963 enlarging the Council to 15 members are ratified in 1965 by the requisite number of member states.

Panama-United States

The Security Council met on January 10, 1964, to consider a complaint by Panama that the United States had committed "repeated threats and acts of aggression" against its territory. In the discussion, the Representative of Panama claimed that the situation had reached a critical point on