(c.) Of such Circulars and instructions as the said Governments may address to their Customs officers regarding the application of the Tariff or the classification of goods, and which may be made public.

(d.) Of their Commercial Treaties, International Conventions, and such internal legislation as has a direct relation to the Customs Tariffs in force.

## ARTICLE XIII.

A Regulation having the same obligatory power as the present Convention will fix the mode of publication of the "Bulletin of the Union," and everything relating to the budget of the "Bureau International," and to the inner organization of the service.

## ARTICLE XIV.

States and Colonies which have taken no part in the present Convention

will be permitted subsequently to subscribe to it.

Their adhesion must be notified in writing to the Belgian Government, which will announce the fact to all the other contracting Governments. The fact of joining will imply full adhesion to all the clauses, and admission to all the advantages stipulated for under the present Convention.

## ARTICLE XV.

The present Convention shall come into operation on the 1st April, 1891,

and shall remain in force for seven years.

If, twelve months before the expiry of the first seven years, the present Convention has not been denounced, the "Union" shall remain in force for a further term of seven years, and so on, from one term of seven years to another.

The denunciation shall be addressed to the Belgian Government. It shall only affect the denouncing State, the Convention remaining in operation as

regards the other countries which belong to the "Union."

The Governments may introduce into the present Convention, by common agreement, and at any time, such improvements as shall be judged useful or necessary

In witness whereof the Undersigned have subscribed to the present Con-

vention, and have affixed thereto their seals.

Done at Brussels, July 5, 1890. CARLOS CALVO Y CAPDEVILA. For the Argentine Republic..... For Austria-Hungary..... EPERJESY. For Belgium..... LAMBERMONT. LÉON BIEBUYCK. KEBERS. For Bolivia......... JOAQUIN CASO. N. PENA VICUNA. For Chile..... For the Independent State of Congo EDM. VAN EETVELDE. MANUEL M. DE PERALTA. For the Republic of Costa Rica.... For Denmark and her Colonies.... SHACK DE BROCKDORFF. For Spain and her Colonies..... J. G. DE AGUËRA. EDWIN H. TERRELL. For the United States of America... For France and her Colonies..... A. BOURÉE. For Great Britain and various Eng-MARTIN GOSSELIN. lish Colonies ......... A. E. BATEMAN. For British India........ MARTIN GOSSELIN. A. E. BATEMAN For the Dominion of Canada .. .. CHARLES TUPPER.