to care for pupils whose parents are unable to provide medical attention.

The administrative work of the Board is in the hands of three permanent officials, a Superintendent, a Building Commissioner and a Secretary-Treasurer who is also supply commissioner. Five years ago the Board had no permanent official or executive officer whose time was devoted wholly to the work of the schools. In July, 1906, the growth of the executive work of the Board and the need of organization of the educational work over a number of schools became so heavy that a Superintendent was appointed. His duties in the beginning were of a rather mixed character. In addition to the supervision of teaching work and the organization of classes, he was purchasing agent for the Board and sperintended the fitting and repair of buildings. From this 6, ... there has since developed the office of supply commissioner attached to that of permanent secretary-treasurer and a qualified architect has been made building commissioner. These with some clerical help constitute the staff of the schools. Increased efficiency has resulted from the differentiation of duties. The Superintendent is J. McCaig, the Bhilding Commissioner is G. E. Turner, and the Secreatry-Treasurer is W. D. Bradey. There is some probability of the Board having to establish in the near future permanent quarters for the work of the schools. In will include necessary expansions to the present services. There will be a suitable board room, superintendent and supervisors' offices, teachers' reading room and professional library, medical inspector's room, building commissioner's office and draughting rooms, secretary's office and stores room and accommodation for clerical help.

The present members of the Board are P. E. Butchart, Chairman; W. Ramsay, W. H. Clark, A. T. Cushing and S. A. G. Barnes,

The various committees are constituted as follows: Finance—Messrs, Cushing, Clark and Barnes, School Management—Messrs, Ramsay, Cushing and Barnes, Building and Grounds—Messrs, Clark, Cushing and Ramsay, Supply—Messrs, Barnes, Clark and Rumsay.

The first named in each committee is Chairman. The Chairman of the Board is ex officio a member of each committee.

There has always been an active sentiment in favor of placing good men on the School Board and the best of the citizens have served in School Board work. The first chairman, both under voluntary and legal provision for schools, was Matthew McCamley whose good judgment and vigorous executive work made bim well qualified for the position. He served on the Beard for fifteen years. Donald Ress was chairman during the year 1889 after five years' previous service as member. John Cameron presided for three years during 1890, 1891 and 1892 and was a member both before and after this time. John A. McDougall was chairman during 1893. John Cameron came back in 1894 and Matthew McCauley in 1895 and 1896. H. C. Taylor, now Judge Taylor, was chairman in 1897 and A. G. Pandall in 1898. Alex. Taylor, Clerk of the Supreme Court, served as chairman for eleven years from 1898 to 1908. During his term Mr. Taylor's aptitude and liling for school board work and his strong executive ability are responsible for the carrying on of the policy of providing the class of permanent school buildings that have had roost to do with putting the system of Edmonton into the high credit it enjoys in Western Canada. Mr. P. E. Butchart, the present chairman, who entered office in January, 1910, is giving to the public in his School Board work the same consistent application that he has already displayed in relation to other public and educatioal interests.