

## PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
OTTAWA - CANADA

No. 77

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 28, 1955.

The Department of External Affairs announced today that five persons have been designated by the Government of Canada to serve as members of the United Nations Panel of Enquiry and Conciliation:

Senator L. M. Gouin

Senator Norman P. Lambert

The Hon. Chief Justice Sir Albert Walsh

The Hon. Chief Justice Sherwood Lett

Mr. R. M. Fowler

Senator Gouin, Senator Lambert and Chief Justice Walsh have been members of the Panel for the past five years, and Mr. Fowler and Chief Justice Lett have been designated to replace the two other original members, the Rt. Hon. Vincent Massey and the Hon. Chief Justice J. L. Ilsley.

On April 28, 1949, the United Nations General Assembly adopted a resolution providing for the creation of a panel for inquiry and conciliation to be available to any states involved in controversies, and to the General Assembly, the Security Council, and other subsidiary organs when exercising their respective functions in relation to disputes. Each Member State was invited to designate from one to five persons deemed to be well-fitted to serve as members of commissions of inquiry or of conciliation.