THE PRESIDENT OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

The General Assembly is presided over by the President, who is elected at the start of each session and holds office until its close. His general powers are to declare the opening and closing of each plenary meeting of the session, direct discussions in plenary meeting, ensure observance of the rules, accord the right to speak, put questions and announce decisions. In the election of the President, due regard is had for equitable geographical rotation of the office.*

THE VICE-PRESIDENTS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY.

The General Assembly also elects seventeen Vice-Presidents. If the President finds it necessary to be absent during the whole or part of a meeting, he appoints one of the Vice-Presidents to take his place.

In 1963, the General Assembly decided that the Vice-Presidents would be elected according to the following pattern;

- (a) Seven from the Afro-Asian group
- (b) One from the East European group
- (c) Three from the Latin American group
- (d) Two from the Western European and Other group (which includes Canada)
- (e) Five from the permanent members of the Security Council.

THE MAIN COMMITTEES

The General Assembly deals with most of its work through seven Main Committees on which all Members have the right to be represented. Though each Member may be represented by only one person on each Committee, each may assign advisers and experts to these Committees. Upon the designation of the chairman of each delegation, such advisers and experts may act as members of the Committee. Quorum is one quarter of the members of each Committee, but the presence of a majority of the members is required for a question to be put to the vote. Decision is by majority. (See Rules 98-134 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Assembly)

* The election of the President has the effect of reducing by one the number of Vice-Presidents from the region from which the President is elected.