Royal Canadian Mounted Police

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), with 18,198 members, is responsible for enforcement of all federal statutes throughout Canada and for national security. It is the only police force in the Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory and enforces the Criminal Code of Canada and provincial statutes in eight provinces. (Ontario and Quebec have their own provincial forces.)

The RCMP began as the Northwest Mounted Police in 1873 and was formed to serve in the 780,000 km² of the Canadian northwest.

In July 1874, ten months after Prime Minister Sir John A. Macdonald announced formation of the NWMP, 300 recruits set off to march 1,600 km in four months from south of Winnipeg to Old Man's River, southern Alberta, where they built Fort MacLeod. This "March West" has become a legend.

The first "Musical Ride" and the first NWMP band were seen and heard at Swan River, Northwest Territories in 1876. Today, a troop of 32 men on black horses continues to delight audiences both in Canada and in many parts of the world where they have toured.

The force became the RCMP in 1920, when headquarters were transferred from Regina to Ottawa. In the 1930s, marine and air services were set up as well as the first of six existing crime detection laboratories.

The RCMP schooner *St. Roch* was the first vessel to sail the eastward route through the Northwest