Cameron (Victoria), Campbell (Victoria). Carling, Caron, Cimon. Costigan, Coughlin, Coursol, Curran, Cuthbert. Daly, Daoust, Dawson, De Beaujeu, Desaulniers,

Dickinson,

Hurteau. Kilvert. Kinney, Kranz, Labrosse. Langevin, Lesage, Livingstone. Macdonald (King's), Macdonald (Sir John), McDonald (Cape Breton), Mackintosh, Macmillan (Middlesex), McMillan (Vaudreuil), McCarthy,

Small. Smyth, Sutherland (Oxford), Tassé, Taylor, Tilley. Tyrwhitt, Vanasse, Wallace (York), White (Cardwell), Williams, Wood (Brockville). Wood (Westmoreland), Woodworth, and Wright.—88.

## NAYS:

## Messieurs

Allison, Armstrong, Auger, Bain, Béchard, Bernier, Blake. Bourassa, Burpee (Sunbury), Campbell (Renfrew), Casey, Casgrain, Catudal. Cochrane. Davies, De St. Georges, Desjardins, Dundas, Dupont, Fairbank, Fisher,

Fleming, Forbes, Foster, Fréchette, Geoffrion, Gigault, Gillmor, Guillett. Gunn, Hackett. Hall. Harley. Holton, Innes, Jamieson, Keefler, Kirk, Landerkin, Landry, Lister, McMillan (Huron),

McCraney, McIntyre, McMullen, Méthot, Montplaisir, O'Brien, Paint, Paterson (Brant), Pickard, Platt, Robertson (Shelburne), Ross (Middlesex). Royal, Scriver, Somerville (Brant), Somerville (Bruce), Springer, Thompson, Trow, and Vail.—63.

The Bill was accordingly re-committed to a Committee of the Whole, further amended, reported, considered as amended, and agreed to.

And the question being again put, -that the Bill be now read a third time;

Mr. Baker (Victoria) then moved in amendment thereto, that the Bill be recommitted to a Committee of the Whole in order to add the following as Clause 5 to section 42 of the said Act:—"In the Province of British Columbia, the provisions of Clause one shall not apply until after a period of three years from the passage of this Act; but in the meantime the number of such Licenses shall not exceed in number one for every two hundred of the first seven thousand of the population, and one for each five hundred over that number; "-which was negatived on the following division :-

## YEAS:

## Messieurs

Amyot. Baker (Victoria), Barnard,

Dickinson, Dodd, Dugas,

Massue, Orton, Patterson (Essex),