with Mr. Speaker on Monday, March 8, 1976, Friday, March 12, 1976, Thursday, March 18, 1976, Monday, March 22, 1976, Tuesday, March 23, 1976, Wednesday, March 24, 1976, Thursday, March 25, 1976, Friday, March 26, 1976 and Monday, March 29, 1976, respectively, were considered:

That, pursuant to Section 20 of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act, (Chapter E-2, R.S.C., 1970), consideration be given by this House to the matter of an objection to the provisions of the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Ontario, laid before this House by Mr. Speaker on February 27, 1976, on the grounds set forth hereinafter:

- 1. The Town of Dunnville has been excluded from the Electoral District of Haldimand-Norfolk, despite the fact that it is one of the Municipalities forming part of the newly formed Haldimand-Norfolk Region.
- 2. Municipal Officials of the Town of Dunnville made recommendations to the Commission at its hearings held in Welland, Ontario, to be included in the Electoral District of Haldimand-Norfolk. These representations have been totally ignored.
- 3. The Commission has also overlooked the fact that historically and geographically the Town of Dunnville has always been a part of the former County of Haldimand.
- 4. And such other objections as the undersigned Members may consider applicable in order to carry out the spirit, terms and conditions of the Act in question.

Signatures of Members:

Wm. D. Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand)

R. Brisco (Kootenay West)

W. Scott (Victoria-Haliburton)

Wm. Jarvis (Perth-Wilmot)

B. Halliday (Oxford)

J. Wise (Elgin)

R. E. McKinley (Huron-Middlesex)

S. Stevens (York-Simcoe)

J. R. Holmes (Lambton-Kent)

G. Mitges (Grey-Simcoe)

D. McKenzie (Winnipeg South Centre)

G. Ritchie (Dauphin)

S. Schumacher (Palliser)

That, pursuant to Section 20 of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act, (Chapter E-2, R.S.C., 1970), consideration be given by this House to the matter of an objection to the provisions of the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Ontario, laid before this House by Mr. Speaker on February 27, 1976 on the grounds set forth hereinafter:

- 1. That the Riding of Bruce-Grey consists of more townships from the County of Bruce than from the County of Grey; therefore, it would appear more logical for the name of the Riding to remain as Bruce-Grey, rather than be changed to Grey-Bruce as indicated in the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Ontario, 1976.
- 2. That Bill C-228 was given Royal Assent on March 13, 1975, which changed the name of the Riding from the Riding of Bruce to the Riding of Bruce-Grey.

- 3. That confusion would result if the federal Riding became Grey-Bruce rather than Bruce-Grey, as a provincial Riding is in existence with the name of Grey-Bruce.
- 4. And such other objections as the undersigned Members may consider applicable in order to carry out the spirit, terms and conditions of the Act in question.

Signatures of Members:

C. Douglas (Bruce-Grey)

R. Daudlin (Kent-Essex)

D. Collenette (York East)

U. Appolloni (York South) Wm. Andres (Lincoln)

E. Lumley (Stormont-Dundas)

J.-R. Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier)

V. Railton (Welland)

J. Fleming (York West)

Wm. Jarvis (Perth-Wilmot)

That, pursuant to Section 20 of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act (Chapter E-2, R.S.C., 1970), consideration be given by this House to the matter of an objection to the provisions of the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Ontario, laid before this House by Mr. Speaker on February 27, 1976, on the grounds set forth hereinafter:

The terms of reference I wish to use for my objection is Section 13(c)(ii) of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act, which states:

- "... the Commission may depart from the strict application of rules (a) and (b) in any case where
- (ii) any special community or diversity of interests of the inhabitants of various regions of the province appears to the Commission to render such a departure necessary or desirable."

This clause allowing for some flexibility for the determination of electoral boundaries is repeated in Schedule B of the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Ontario (1976):

- "... the Commission may depart from such equality for any of the following reasons:
- (2) special community or diversity of interests of the inhabitants of the various regions."

It is my allegation that the Report's presentment of the federal riding of Lincoln (see pg. 20-21), is in breach of the special community of interests as derived from the economic, social, historic, political and traditional associations of the Niagara fruit lands. The present boundaries of Lincoln, encompassing Niagara-on-the-Lake, Lincoln, Pelham, Grimsby and West Lincoln, reflects and follows a long-standing community of interest based on its rural, fruit-producing and agricultural characteristics.

The 1973 Report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission for Ontario (which was suspended on July 19, 1973) still preserved these interests when they described Lincoln as consisting of that part of the Regional Municipality of Niagara contained in the Townships of Wainfleet and West Lincoln, the Towns of Grimsby, Lincoln and Niagara-on-