under the jurisdiction of the Prime Minister. There it remained until 1946, when a separate Secretary of State for External Affairs was appointed for the first time. In the reorganization of 1983, to embrace foreign trade and related operations, two additional Cabinet ministers were appointed to serve with the Secretary of State for External Affairs — a Minister for International Trade and a Minister for External Relations. The former is responsible on the political level for the Department's international trade and export promotion activities, including responsibility for the Export Development Corporation and the Canadian Commercial Corporation. The latter supports the Secretary of State for External Affairs with responsibility for, inter alia, international social, cultural and humanitarian affairs and relations with francophone Africa. A new External Affairs Act, adopted in 1983, provides the legislative basis for these changes and for the expanded responsibilities and changed structure of the Department.

Widened managerial basis

Organization at the senior permanent official level parallels that at the politico-ministerial level. The senior permanent official, the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, is now supported by two deputy ministers respectively responsible, broadly speaking, for international trade and for political affairs. At present, the former is also co-ordinator for international economic relations. The latter has responsibility for defence and arms control, multilateral institutions, security and intelligence, and for international cultural and information matters. They share responsibility for the five geographic branches which combine all aspects of Canada's relations with individual countries and regions. Reporting directly to the Under-Secretary are the offices of Legal Adviser, Protocol and Press, and the branches of Administration, Personnel and Policy and Co-ordination Planning.

Next in line to these three senior officials are 12 assistant deputy ministers (ADM) who supervise the main operational units of the Department, i.e. the geographic and functional branches (see below). Within each branch are two or more bureaux, each headed by a director-general, and, within each bureau are two or more divisions, each headed by a director.

The new institutional structure is designed to make the management of government policy and resources more effective. Considerable responsibility is now delegated to the geographic branches of the Department and, within them, to the directors-general of the bureaux.