## 6. NEGOTIATIONS ON CONFIDENCE- AND SECURITY-BUILDING MEASURES (CSBMs)

## BACKGROUND

Confidence-building measures (CBMs) and confidence- and security-building measures (CSBMs) in the European security environment have been negotiated in three main fora: in Helsinki, through the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CSCE); in Stockholm, through the Conference on Confidence- and Security-Building Measures and Disarmament in Europe (CCSBMDE); and currently in Vienna through the Negotiations on CSBMs.

The Helsinki Final Act was negotiated by the thirty-five-nation CSCE between 3 July 1973 and 1 August 1975. The thirty-five participating nations were roughly divided into three main groupings: the sixteen NATO members, the seven Warsaw Pact nations, and the neutral and non-aligned (NNA) countries. The Final Act contained three "Baskets" of issues: Basket I: Questions relating to Security in Europe; Basket II: Cooperation in the Field of Economics, of Science and Technology and of the Environment; and Basket III: Cooperation in Humanitarian and Other Fields.

In Basket I, the thirty-five participants agreed, among other things, to voluntary observance of limited confidence-building measures, designed to further such objectives as reducing the risks of armed conflict resulting from misunderstanding or miscalculation of military activities. The measures agreed to were: prior notification of major or other military manoeuvres; exchange of observers; and prior notification of major military movements.

CSCE Follow-up meetings have been held in Belgrade (1977-1978), Madrid (1980-1983), and Vienna (1986-1989). The Madrid Follow-up meeting established the Conference on Confidence- and Security-Building Measures and Disarmament in Europe (CCSBMDE), also commonly referred to as the Conference on Disarmament in Europe (CDE), which began in Stockholm on 17 January 1984. The aim of this conference was to build upon the CBM process begun in Helsinki and "to undertake, in stages, new, effective and concrete actions designed to make progress in strengthening confidence and security and in achieving disarmament, so as to give effect and expression to the duty of states to refrain from the threat or use of force in their mutual relations." These measures were to be applicable to "the whole of Europe as well as the adjoining sea area and air space," to be militarily significant, politically binding, and adequately verifiable. As the type of CBMs to be negotiated were strengthened from those agreed to in Helsinki, the word "security" was added to describe them.

The nations involved in the CSCE process were: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, the German Democratic Republic, the Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, the Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, and Yugoslavia.