band which inspired the boys and raised them "to height of noblest temper" by its soul-stirring strains. The regalia of the different years and faculties was an innovation which greatly added to the effect, while the display of fireworks, together with the flash of the torches, presented an imposing spectacle, and no doubt awed the freshmen by its splendour. Mr. Taggart deserves praise for the faithfulness with which he played upon his violin, while grand marshal Snider must also be credited with having effectually kept the ranks in order.

## ARTS SOCIETY.

The following gentlemen have been elected officers of the Arts Society for the ensuing year :--President, A. W. Poole; Secretary, N. J. McLean; Treasurer, A. G. Burrows. Committeemen :--'99, G. Dolan; 'oo, W. F. Crawford; 'o1, L. Macdonnell; '02, N. C. Polson; 5th year, A. Scott; Auditor, J. D. Cannon.

## CONCURSUS.

The following is the list of officers of the Concursus Iniquitatis et Virtutis for this session:—Senior Judge, W. R. Tandy; Junior Judge, J. B. Snider; Senior Prosecuting Attorney, J. A. McCallum; Junior Prosecuting Attorney, W. H. Fletcher; Sheriff, G. Munro; Clerk, A. Hord; Chief of Police, J. Faulkner; Crier, A. E. Hagar; Constables, '99, J. A. M. Bell, W. R. Hunter; '00, T. C. Brown, D. A. McKay; '01, J. A. Donnell, R. H. Mackerras; '02, W. D. Calvin, T. D. Macgillivray.

These gentlemen will, no doubt, be able to look after the erring freshman and guide him in the straight and narrow path. At the same time other students need not consider themselves immune, for the heavy hand of the Concursus will also be laid on them if they wander too far from the path of rectitude.

## CLASS REPORTS.

'99.

At a meeting of the Senior year held on Oct. 20th, the following officers were elected: President, J. A. McCallum; Vice-President, Miss E. Miller; Sec.-Treas., H. H. Black; Critic, John Duff; Historian, J. H. Dempster; Orator, W. J. Saunders; Prophet, Miss Eva E. Greenhill; Marshal, J. B. Snider; Poet, Miss Norval Macdonald. Messrs. Purvis, W. R. Saunders and A. W. Poole were appointed an Athletic Committee, and the officers of the year form the Programme Committee.

At a meeting held on Nov. 1st it was decided to hold an "At Home" in the College on Friday, Dec. 2nd, and a general committee, consisting of Messrs. W. Macdonald, J. McCallum, W. R. Tandy, J. F. Millar, and Misses Deacon, Miller, Greenhill, Mc-Lennan, was appointed to arrange for it. Messrs. Dargavel, Hawley, W. Macdonald, T. Kennedy and Misses Wilkic, Grenfell, Anglin and Birch were appointed a committee to attend to the year picture.

The senior year is adopting strict parliamentary procedure, and during the discussion about the "At Home" formed itself into a committee of the whole, the President leaving the chair, and afterwards rose and reported progress.

'00.

The regular meeting for the election of officers of the Junior year was held in the Philosophy room on Thursday evening, Oct. 27th, when the following were elected for the session '98-99 :-- President, T. C. Brown; 1st Vice-President, Miss McPherson; 2nd Vice-President, W. J. McQuarrie; Secretary, Mr.Campbell; Programme Committee, Miss Shibley, Miss Watson, J. F. Sparks, N. J. McLean, A. E. Hagar; Historian, Mr. Russell; Poetess, Miss Mac-Alister; Orator, G. A. McGaughey; Prophet, Miss De La Mather.

The following were moved in as new members :--Miss McKee, Messrs. Pocock, Wellwood and Rev. Mr. Bates.

'o2.

The first meeting of the year 1902 was held on Monday, Oct. 10th. The following were elected officers for the present session:—Hon. President, Prof. Nicholson; President, W. McInnes; Vice-President, Miss Smirle; Secretary, J. M. Young; Historian, Miss M. Wright; Poet, Miss C. Fenwick; Orator, F. J. Rielly; Prophet, J. H. Hutchison; Marshal, Knox Walkem. The following Athletic Committee was appointed: K. Walkem, F. J. Rielly, J. M. Young.

The President, Vice-President and Secretary were appointed as a Committee to draft a Constitution. E. G. C. Twitchell and N. C. Polson were chosen as candidates for the Arts Society Committee. D. D. Calvin, J. Sears, C. N. Knight and T. D. Macgillivray were chosen as candidates for Constables in the Concursus.

The regular meeting of '02 was held Monday, Oct. 24th.

The Committee appointed to draft the Constitution presented their report. After some discussion the report was laid on the table till the next meeting. R. Burton addressed the meeting on behalf of the JOURNAL, and urged all members of 'oz to support it.

The following Programme Committee was appointed to act till Christmas :--Misses Smythe and Wilson; Messrs. Walkem, McLaren, Grover and Macgillivray.