Manual and Signet, and dated the 31st day of July, A. D. 1863, hath appointed and declared that the following Public Officers shall, during Her pleasure, be Members of the said Legislative Council, that is to say the respective Officers lawfully acting for the time being

As Colonial Secretary for the said Colony, As Attorney General for the said Colony,

As Treasurer for the said Colony,

As Chief Commissioner of Lands and Works for the said Colony,

As Collector of Customs for the said Colony.

NOW THESE ARE TO NOTIFY AND DECLARE that in pursuance of the power and authority given as aforesaid, the Governor has constituted and appointed the undermentioned Magistrates to be, during Her Majesty's pleasure, Members of the said Legislative Council, viz:

The Honourables

Chartres Brew, Magistrate, New Westminster,
Peter O'Reilly, Magistrate, Cariboo,
Henry Maynard Ball, Magistrate, Lytton,
Andrew Charles Elliott, Magistrate, Lillooet,
John Carmichael Haynes, Magistrate, Osoyoos and Kootenay.

The following appointments to the Council have also been made by the Governor, in deterence to the wishes of the people, as expressed in the Districts mentioned after each Honorable Member's name:

The Honourables
Joshua Attwood Reyr

Joshua Attwood Reynolds Homer, New Westminster, Henry Holbrook, Douglas and Lillooet, Clement Francis Cornwall, Hope, Yale, and Lytton, George Anthony Walkem, Cariboo East and Quesnel Forks,

Walter Moberly, Cariboo West and Quesnelmouth.

Provided always that such appointments as last mentioned shall be provisional only as aforesaid, and provided also that they shall continue in force, unless previously determined, until the 1st day of May, A. D. 1866, and no longer. AND THESE ARE FURTHER TO NOTIFY, SUMMON, AND CONVENE the various Officers and Persons, as aforesaid, to meet at New Westminster, on the 12th day of December, in the year of Our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixty-four.

By Command.
ARTHUR N. BIRCH.

Monday, the 12th day of December, 1864.

Pursuant to the above notice the Legislative Council met this day, the following Members being present:—The Honourables The Colonial Secretary, The Attorney General, The Treasurer, The Collector of Customs, Chartres Brew, J. P., Peter O' Reilly, J. P., Henry Maynard Ball, J. P., J. A. R. Homer, Henry Holbrook, G. A. Walkem, and W. Moberly.

At 2 o'clock, P. M., His Excellency Frederick Seymour, Esquire, Governor of the Colony, entered the Council Chamber, attended by his Private Secretary, and being seated in the President's Chair, administered the usual oath of allegiance and office to the Members present, who severally subscribed the same.

His Excellency then delivered the following gracious Speech:

HONOURABLE GENTLEMEN OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL:

It is with great satisfaction that I meet you to-day, and invite you to enter with me upon our Legislative duties.