That Bill C-87, be amended in Clause 19 by striking out lines 43 and 44 at page 5 and substituting the following therefor:

"other Act of Parliament.

(3) The rates of customs duty set out in Schedule I and section 46 and the customs duties imposed by this Act are further subject to such increases, reductions, removals or other exceptions as may be specified in any regulation or order made under this or any other Act of Parliament, provided that no such regulation or order shall have effect for more than sixty days unless it is adopted by resolution of both Houses of

The House divided on the motion, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 296)

YEAS

Members

Berger Jewett Blackburn Kaplan (Brant) Keeper Boudria Killens Cassidy MacLellan Dewar Manly Fulton McCurdy Garneau McDonald Gauthier (Broadview Hopkins Hovdebo Greenwood) Nicholson Isabelle (Trinity)

NAYS

Members

Graham

Belsher Grav Bernier (Bonaventure—Îles-de-Bertrand la-Madeleine) Blackburn Greenaway (Jonquière) Hamelin Blouin Hamilton Bouchard Hardey Bourgault Hawkes Brisco Hees Cadieux Hnatyshyn Carney Holtmann Chartrand Jardine Clark Johnson (Brandon-Souris) Clinch Conception) Collins Kindy Comeau Ladouceur Corbett Lanthier Côté La Salle (Lac-Saint-Jean) Lebland Crofton MacKay Crouse Mailly Daubney Malone Desjardins Mantha Duguay Marin Ferland

Andre

Fontaine

Friesen

Gottselig

(Bonavista—Trinity-Mazankowski McCain McKenzie

Minaker Nickerson Nowlan Oberle Pietz Plourde Porter Price Reid Ricard St. Germain St-Julien Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin) Scowen Tardif (Charlesbourg) Taylor Tupper Turner (Ottawa—Carleton) Van De Walle Vézina (Swift Current -Maple Creek)-77

Parry Robichaud

Rodriguez

Rossi

Skelly

Waddell

Young-27

Belsher Bernier Bertrand Blackburn (Jonquière) Blouin Bouchard Bourgault Brisco Cadieux Carney Chartrand Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clinch Collins Comeau Corbett Côté (Lac-Saint-Jean) Crofton Crouse Daubney Desjardins Duguay Ferland Fontaine Friesen Gass

Gottselig

Graham Grav (Bonaventure-Îles-dela-Madeleine) Greenaway Hamelin Hamilton Hardey Hawkes Hees Hnatyshyn Holtmann Jardine Johnson (Bonavista—Trinity-Conception) Kindy Ladouceur Lanthier La Salle Leblanc MacKay Mailly Malone Mantha Marin Mazankowski McCain McKenzie McKinnon

Parry Robichaud

Rodriguez

Rossi

Skelly

Waddell

Young-27

Mr. Mike Cassidy (Ottawa Centre) moved:

Motion No. 4

10 and 11.

Berger

Boudria

Cassidy

Dewar

Fulton

Garneau

Gauthier

Hopkins

Hovdebo

Isabelle

Andre

Blackburn

(Brant)

That Bill C-87, be amended in Clause 32 by striking out lines 13 to 16 at page 10 and substituting the following therefor:

Customs Tariff

The above division also applies to Motions Nos. 3, 5, 6, 7, 9,

"to sections 23, 27 or 28, the order shall cease to have any force or effect with respect to any period following the sixtieth day after the"

The House divided on the motion, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 297)

YEAS

Members

Jewett Kaplan Keeper Killens MacLellan Manly McCurdy McDonald (Broadvier Greenwood) Nicholson (Trinity)

NAYS

Members

Minaker Nickerson Nowlan Oberle Pietz Plourde Porter Price Reid Ricard St. Germain St-Julien Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin) Scowen Tardif (Charlesbourg) Taylor Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton)

Van De Walle Vézina (Swift Current -Maple Creek)-77

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I declare the motion lost.

McKinnon

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I declare the motion lost.