Christiane Gagnon, Sharon Hayes, Audrey McLaughlin and Paddy Torsney. The delegation includes Ministers Responsible for the Status of Women from Manitoba and Quebec, Status of Women officials from the Northwest Territories, as well as representatives of women's organizations, labour, business, youth, church, human rights and development non-governmental groups and universities.

In preparing for the World Conference over the past two-and-ahalf years, the Canadian government consulted extensively with a wide range of Canadians including the non-governmental Canadian Beijing Facilitating Committee, individual Canadians, other interested groups, the provinces and territories, United Nations agencies and other countries.

- 30 -

For further information or a complete delegation list, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (613) 995-1874

Media Relations Office Status of Women Canada (613) 995-7835