Ms. M. Anne Charles born in Victoria, British Columbia, as Ambassador to the Republic of Peru with concurrent accreditation to the Republic of Bolivia.

Ms. Charles [B.A., English, University of Toronto, 1967; M.A. Political Science, University of Toronto, 1969] joined the Trade Commissioner Service of the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce in 1972. She served abroad in Sydney, Bogota and as Counsellor (Commercial) in Belgrade from 1984 to 1986. In Ottawa, she worked for the Department of Finance in the International Economic Relations Division from 1979 to 1981, in the Industrial Trade Policy Division in the Office of General Trade Relations from 1981 to 1982; and with the Ministry of State for Economic Development from 1982 to 1984. She has been Consul and Senior Trade Commissioner in Dallas since 1987. Ms. Charles replaces Mr. Keith A. Bezanson.

Mr. Rodney Irwin born in Montreal, Quebec, as High Commissioner to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Mr. Irwin [B.A., (Honours), University of British Columbia, 1969; M.A., English, University of British Columbia, 1971] joined the Department of External Affairs in 1971. He served abroad in New Delhi and Moscow. In Ottawa, he was Personnel Policy Analyst from 1980 to 1981; Head of the Personnel assignments section from 1981 to 1982; Deputy Director Personnel Operations from 1982 to 1983 and Director, Political/Economic Stream from 1983 to 1985. He has been Director General Corporate Management Bureau since 1985. He is married to Penelope Lynne Hawkins. They have three children. Mr. Irwin replaces Mr. J. Calbert Best.

Ambassador to the Republic of Iraq. Mr. David Andrew Karsgaard, born in Vancouver, British Columbia, as

Mr. Karsgaard [B.A. 1966; M.A. 1970; University of Manitoba] joined the Department of External Affairs in 1972. He has served abroad in New Delhi and Bonn as Second Secretary and Counsellor respectively. In Ottawa he has served as the Director of the Cabinet Liaison and Coordination Division and since 1985 as Director of the Defence Relations Division. Mr. Karsgaard replaces Mr. Erik B. Wang.