153

At a meeting of the protestant Dissenters Landholders in Maugerville and Sheffield held at the meeting house in Sheffield on Monday the 13th day of August 1792.

1 Voted that Daniel Jewett be Chairman of this meeting.

2nd. Voted that David Burpe Esq. be continued as clerk to this Society.

3dly. Voted to continue David Burpe and Moses Coburn their trustees and Israel Perley Esq. be a trustee in room and stead of John Wason one of their late Trustees who is at present incapable of transacting any publick business and ordered that they the said David Burpe Moses Coburn and Israel Perley or any two of them shall in future manage and transact all kinds of business respecting the publick lot number 15 in Sheffield by themselves or attorney or attornies.

Ordered that an instrument in writing further authorizing the said trustees to act be handed about to the several dissenters Landholders in Maugerville and Sheffield who could not attend this meeting.

At a meeting of the society held at the meeting house in Sheffield on the 23rd. day of July 1794.

Mr. Moses Coburn Chosen Moderator.

Voted that the Rev. James Boyd be desired to tarry with us for the term of one year from the time he first preached in Sheffield.

Voted to choose a committee to treat with Mr. Boyd on the subject and that Messrs Moses Coburn Daniel Jewett and Nathan Smith be the committee.

At a meeting of the Society held at the house of Mr. Daniel Jewett in Sheffield on Monday the eleventh day of April 1796.

Chose Mr. Nathan Smith Chairman.

Voted to make proposals to Mr. James Boyd to tarry with us for the term of one year from the 1st day of May next.

Voted to accept the instrument prepared by Mr. Perley for subscription towards Mr. Boyds support resolved to continue the present mode of monthly collections.

Voted that the subscription paper be handed about to those of the Society who are not present at this meeting.

Voted to choose a committee to treat with Mr. Boyd on the subject and to acquaint him with minds of the Society — and Mr. Moses Coburn David Burpe and Israel Perley be the committee.

PAGE 153

160

187

193

221