Resolved,-That Mr. Deschambault be elected Vice-Chairman.

On motion of Mr. Fraser, nominations were closed.

## Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure

On motion of Mr. Aiken, seconded by Mr. Ormiston,

*Resolved,*—That a subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, consisting of the Chairman and six other members of the Committee to be named by him, be appointed.

## Printing

On motion of Mr. Kucherepa, seconded by Mr. Paul,

Resolved,—That, pursuant to the power given to the Committee by the Order of Reference of February 18th, the Committee print, from day to day, 750 copies in English and 200 copies in French of its minutes of proceedings and evidence.

The Clerk read the Order of Reference dated Wednesday, April 29, 1959. (See evidence issue No. 1)

Mr. Pickersgill referred to the House of Commons Debates of August 26, 1958 and quoted a suggestion he then made in respect of political broadcasts. He reiterated his suggestion.

Mr. Aiken was of the opinion that the Committee might consider this matter on conclusion of its Order of Reference.

The Chairman introduced Mr. Nelson J. Castonguay and Mr. E. A. Anglin.

Mr. Castonguay was called. He made a brief statement and tabled mimeographed copies of suggested draft amendments to the Canada Elections Act for the perusal of the members and subsequent consideration of the Committee. These copies were distributed forthwith to the members present.

The witness also tabled a document comprising suggestions which his office has received and which pertain to various sections of the Canada Elections Act.

Ordered,—That the above papers be printed as an Appendix. (See Appendix I to this day's evidence)

At 9.50 o'clock, the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

## FRIDAY, May 22, 1959. (3)

The Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections met this day at 9.30 o'clock pursuant to notice. The Chairman, Mr. Heath Macquarrie, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Barrington, Bell (Carleton), Carter, Grills, Hardie, Henderson, Howard, Johnson, Kucherepa, Macquarrie, McBain, Paul, Pickersgill, Richard (Ottawa East), and Tassé-15.

In attendance: Mr. Nelson J. Castonguay, Chief Electoral Officer, and Mr. E. A. Anglin, Q.C., Assistant Chief Electoral Officer.