November 13, 1984

• (1430)

COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

FIRST REPORT PRESENTED

Hon. Orville H. Phillips. Chairman of the Committee of Selection, presented the following report:

Tuesday, November 13, 1984

The Committee of Selection has the honour to present its

FIRST REPORT

Pursuant to Rule 66(1)(a), your Committee nominates the Honourable Senator Asselin, P.C., as Speaker pro tempore.

Respectfully submitted.

Orville H. Phillips Chairman

The Hon. the Speaker: Honourable senators, when shall this report be taken into consideration?

Senator Phillips moved that the report be taken into consideration at the next sitting of the Senate.

Motion agreed to.

SECOND REPORT PRESENTED

Hon. Orville H. Phillips, Chairman of the Committee of Selection, presented the following report:

Tuesday, November 13, 1984 The Committee of Selection has the honour to present its

SECOND REPORT

Pursuant to Rule 66(1)(b) your Committee submits herewith the list of Senators nominated by it to serve on each of the following select committees:

JOINT COMMITTEE ON THE LIBRARY OF PARLIAMENT

The Honourable the Speaker and the Honourable Senators Anderson, Bélisle, De Bané, Gigantès, Guay, Hébert, Hicks, Lapointe, Macdonald, Macquarrie, Marsden, Robichaud, Stanbury, Stewart, Wood and Yuzyk. (17)

JOINT COMMITTEE ON THE PRINTING **OF PARLIAMENT**

The Honourable Senators Adams, Beaubien, Bélisle, Bielish, Cools, Cottreau, Doody, Giguère, Hays, Kenny,

Kirby, Lefebyre, Macdonald, Marchand, Rousseau, Sherwood, Sullivan and Watt. (18)

JOINT COMMITTEE ON THE RESTAURANT OF PARLIAMENT

The Honourable the Speaker and the Honourable Senators Bélisle, Bosa, Denis, Haidasz, LeBlanc (Beauséiour) and Phillips. (6)

> IOINT COMMITTEE ON REGULATIONS AND OTHER STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

The Honourable Senators Bielish, Godfrey, Langlois, Macquarrie, Pitfield and Rizzuto, (6)

IOINT COMMITTEE ON OFFICIAL LANGUAGES POLICY AND PROGRAMS

The Honourable Senators Corbin, Fairbairn, Guay, Murray, Stollery, Tremblay, Wood and Yuzyk. (8)

SENATE COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS

The Honourable Senators Asselin, Bosa, Flynn, Grafstein, Haidasz, Hicks, Lapointe, *MacEachen (or Frith), Macquarrie, Murray, Nurgitz, *Roblin (or Doody), Rowe and van Roggen. (12) *Ex officio members.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL FINANCE

The Honourable Senators Balfour, Davey, De Bané, Doody, Giguère, Kelly, Kenny, Leblanc (Saurel), *Mac-Eachen (or Frith), Murray, Pitfield, *Roblin (or Doody), Steuart and Stewart. (12)

*Ex officio members.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND COMMUNICATIONS

The Honourable Senators Bielish, Fairbairn, Graham, Langlois, Lawson, Macdonald, *MacEachen (or Frith), Macquarrie, Muir *Roblin (or Doody), Steuart, Stollery, Thériault and Turner. (12)

*Ex officio members.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS

The Honourable Senators Asselin, Cools, Corbin, Flynn, Lewis, *MacEachen (or Frith), Neiman, Nurgitz, Pitfield, Rizzuto, Robichaud, *Roblin (or Doody), Stanbury and Tremblay. (12)

*Ex officio members.