1485-

Two Mountains, Montreal, Terrebonne, Lachenaye, Assomption, Berthier, St. Maurice, and Portneuf, in Lower Canada, and the Counties of Glengarry, Carlton, Lanark, Grenville, Leeds, Prince Edward, Hastings, Northumber-

- 5 land, Durham, Simcoe, Halton, Wentworth, Waterloo, Elgin, Middlesex, Brant, Wellington, Norfolk, Oxford, Welland, Lincoln, Ontario and Peel in Upper Canada, shall each be respectively represented by two Members in the Legislative Assembly of this Province, and the County of York in Upper Canada by three Members; the Counties of
- 10 Gaspé, Bonaventure, Rimousky, Temiscouata, Lotbinière, Megantic, I'rummond, Yamaska, Stanstead, Shefford, Missiskoui, Verchères, Huntingdon, Argenteuil, Champlain, Quebec, Montmorency, and Saguenay, in Lower anada, and the Counties of Stormont, Prescott, Russell,
- 15 Renfrew, Dundas, Lennox, Addington, Frontenac, Peterborough, Victoria, Perth, Lambton, Kent, Essex, Haldimand and Grey, in Upper Canada, each, respectively by one Member; the Counties of Bagot and Montagnais, in Lower Canada, which shall be united for the purpo-
- 20 ses of this Act, by one Member for the two; and the Counties of Huron and Bruce in Upper Canada, which shall be united for the purposes of this Act, by one Member for the two; the Cities of Quebec and Montreal, each, respectively, by three Members; the City of
- 25 Toronto by two Members; and the Town of Three-Rivers, with the Parish as hereinbefore defined, the Town of Sherbrooke, the City of Hamilton, the City of Kingston, the Town of Bytown, the Town of London, the Town of Niagara, the Town of Brockville, and the
- 30 Town of Cornwall, each, respectively by one Member; Provided always, that the qualifications of persons entitled to vote at Elections of Members in the said Counties, Cities, and Towns, 'shall respectively remain as they now are, or as fixed by this Act, or as they may be fixed by any other Act passed during the present or any
- 35 future Session; Provided also, that for all other purposes Provisor except those of this Act, the several Cities and Towns in this Province, shall be considered as making part of the County in which they are situate, in all cases where it is not otherwise provided by law.
- 40

III. And be it enacted, That the Divisions of Counties, When this Cities and Towns in this Province, established for the effect purposes of this Act, shall have their full and entire effect for all the purposes thereof so soon as it shall come into force, but shall not in any manner affect the Divisions now

- 45 existing for the purposes of the Administration of Justice, of the Militia, of the Registration of deeds or other instruments, of Municipal or local affairs, or of any other matter whatsoever, except only for the purposes of this Act, unless and until it shall be otherwise provided by the
- <sup>50</sup> Legislature; Provided always, that any Act or Acts mak- Proviso. ing provision for any of the matters aforesaid may be

Proviso: