Subsidiary Organs of the SC:

The SC has the authority to create so-called subsidiary organs. These can be one person or a committee, and are established to assist the SC in carrying out its decisions. Subsidiary organs include a number of committees concerned with Council procedure (e.g. Committee of Experts on SC procedure, Committee on the Admission of New Members) and the various sanctions committees. Peacekeeping operations and the International Tribunals (Former Yugoslavia and Rwanda) are also considered subsidiary organs.

Sanctions Committees:

There are currently eight committees concerned with SC-mandated sanctions regimes, covering each of the following countries. All SC members are members of each sanctions committee. One SC member is designated as chair for each committee.

- Iraq
- Libya
- Somalia
- Angola
- Rwanda
- Liberia
- Sierra Leone
- Former Yugoslavia

There are also diplomatic sanctions against Sudan, though no committee has been established.

Sanctions committees are "committees of the whole" and meet in private. Records of their discussions are issued, with limited distribution, usually one or two months after a meeting has taken place. The key functions of these committees include:

- Monitoring compliance with sanctions regimes by other states;
- Consideration of possible violations;
- Making recommendations to the SC on how to increase the effectiveness of sanctions;
- Approving certain exemptions for humanitarian and other purposes.

Not all of the above committees are equally active. The committee concerned with Iraq is the busiest and most controversial because of the high profile of events there and the complex nature of the sanctions regime (which includes the "oil-for-food" program).