Ireland Fact Sheet

Basic data

Capital Total area Population Currency Language National holiday

Political data

Type of state Type of government Head of state Head of government (Taoiseach) Minister for foreign affairs Main political parties

Chamber of deputies (Dail)

Senate (Seanad)

Next elections

Economic data*

Minister of industry and trade Minister of finance GNP GDP per capita GDP growth rate Unemployment rate Inflation rate Total national debt Budget deficit Imports

Exports

Dublin 69,040 km² 3.5 million Punt (\$1 = 0.5173 I£) English, Gaelic March 17

Republic Parliamentary democracy Mary Robinson (elected in 1990 for seven years) Charles Haughey (since 1987) Gerard Collins (since 1989) Fianna Fail (Soldiers of Destiny, FF), Fine Gael (Tribe of Ireland, FG), Progressive Democrats (PD), Labour Party (LP), Workers' Party (WP) 166 members elected for five years by proportional representation. Seats following ballot of 1989: FF=77, FG = 55, PD = 12, others = 22 60 members elected for five years: 11 appointed by Taoiseach, 6 elected by universities, 43 elected on vocational basis Legislative and senatorial must be held by 1994. Presidential elections to be held in 1997

Desmond O'Malley (since 1989) Albert Reynolds (since 1989) \$38.54 billion \$11,013 3.6% 17.2% 3.3% \$48.3 billion or 118% of GNP \$889 million, 1.9% of GNP \$14.65 billion of which \$125 million is imported from Canada \$16.87 billion of which \$257 million is exported to Canada

* 1990 figures unless otherwise specified.