Table 1 Key Dates in Nuclear Non-Proliferation	
July 16, 1945	Detonation of first U.S. nuclear explosive device.
August 6, 1945	Dropping of nuclear bomb on Hiroshima, Japan.
November 15, 1945	Joint Declaration of the Heads of Government of the United States, the United Kingdom and Canada calling for international action: (a) to prevent the use of atomic energy for destructive purposes, and (b) to promote the use of recent and future advances in atomic energy for peaceful and humanitarian ends.
September 23, 1949	Detonation of first Soviet nuclear device.
October 20, 1952	Detonation of first U.K. nuclear device.
December 8, 1953	"Atoms for Peace Proposal" by President Eisenhower calls for establishment of an International Atomic Energy Agency under UN sponsorship and for worldwide sharing of peaceful uses of nuclear energy.
October 26, 1956	Statute of the International Atomic Energy Agency opened for signature. The Statute came into force on July 29, 1957.
October 16, 1960	Detonation of first French nuclear device.
January 31, 1961	First IAEA safeguards system approved covering small reactors (INFCIRC/26). First inspection under this system took place in 1962.
August 5, 1963	Treaty Banning Nuclear Weapon Tests in the Atmosphere, in Outer Space and Under Water (Limited Test Ban Treaty) opened for signature. Entered into force on October 10, 1963.
October 16, 1964	Detonation of first Chinese nuclear device.
September 28, 1965	New safeguards system approved covering all sizes of reactors (INFCIRC/66).
February 14, 1967	Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America (Treaty of Tlatelolco) opened for signature. Entered into force on April 22, 1968.
July 1, 1968	Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons opened for signature. Entered into force March 5, 1970.