ASEAN (ASSOCIATION OF SOUTHEAST ASIAN NATIONS) FACT SHEET

Member Countries:

Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and

Thailand

1. HISTORICAL BACKGROUND

1967, Bangkok:

Formation of ASEAN

Bangkok Declaration stating the objectives of the

Association

1971, Kuala Lumpur:

Kuala Lumpur Declaration calling for a Zone of Peace,

Freedom and Neutrality (ZOPFAN)

1975

First meeting of ASEAN Economic and Planning Ministers

1976, Bali:

First ASEAN Summit meeting

Treaty of Amity and Cooperation establishing mechanisms to

resolve outstanding bilateral disputes

Declaration of ASEAN Concord establishing the framework

for regular and sustained political and economic

consultation

1977, Kuala Lumpur:

Second ASEAN Summit

Dialogue relationship established with Canada, Australia,

New Zealand, Japan, the EC (the USA became a Dialogue

partner in 1978)

Since 1979:

Annual ASEAN Foreign Ministers meetings including Dialogue

Partners

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

Permanent Secretariat - Jakarta

Secretary General of ASEAN - Mr. Chan Kai Yau (Singapore)

System:

The Association is dependent on the full consensus of its members. Each country has its own National Office of "Director General, ASEAN" to handle ASEAN matters. The

Secretary General is responsible, therefore, only for the administration of the Secretariat. There are five economic committees, as well as various sub-committees, working groups, ad hoc bodies and expert groups. Many local non-government bodies have also federated to become

ASEAN-wide organizations.