an

of

pe

Sta

vai

nea

and

mo

inte

sup

Tw

tille

ces

of .

gov

istii

sem

and

rati

the

ann

the

follo

Stat

part

" H

sent,

appro

depar

the U

North

Ferri

ies fr

" G

"M

"A

" A

I

The Convention proceeded to the labors of framing a state Constitution, which was finally adopted, and submitted to the consideration of the American Congress for their approval and ratification at the session of 1845 and 1846.

Meantime, the government of Mexico, apprised of the determination of the Texan Congress on the subject of annexation, and which was a just criterion for the decision of the Convention, had resolved to take active measures for the invasion of the country east of the Rio del Norte. Chagrined that all the means put into operation had been unsuccessful in defeating the annexation to the United States, the government of Mexico began to make every demonstration of active hostilities against the United States for the recovery and subjugation of Texas eastward to the Sabine. Great military preparations were made in all the departments subject to the central government, while large bodies of troops were gradually advanced toward Matamoros on the Rio del Norte. Before the middle of August, the advanced detachments of the Mexican army had arrived at Monterey, within two hundred and twenty miles of Matamoros, while the declarations of the Mexican government, published at and near the city of Mexico, asserted that war would be prosecuted vigorously for the recovery of Texas.*

We, the deputies of the people of Texas, in convention assembled, in their name and by their authority, do ordsin and declare, that we assent to and accept the proposals, conditions, and guarantees contained in the first and second sections of the resolutions of the Congress of the United States aforesaid.

THOS. J. RUSK, President.

Phil. M. Cuny, H. G. Runnels, Robert M. Forbes, Ssm. Lusk, Jno. Caldwell, Jose Antonio Navarro, Geo. M. Brown, George T. Wood, G. W. Wright, H. R. Latimer, John M. Lewis, James Scott, Archibald M'Neill, A. C. Horton, Gustavus A. Everts, Lemuel Dale Evans, J. B. Miller, R. E. B. Baylor, J. S. Mayfield, R. Bache, James Love, William L. Hunter, John D. Anderson, Isasc Parker, P. O. Lumpkin, Francis Moore, Sr., Isasc W. Brashear, Alexander M'Gowan, Isasc Van Zant, S. Holland, Edward Clark, Geo. W. Smyth, James Armstrong, Francis W. White, James Davis, Israel Standefer, Jos. L. Hogg, Chas. S. Taylor, David Gage, Henry S. Jewett, Cavitt Armstrong, James Bower, Albert H. Latimer, Wm. C. Young, J. Pinckney Henderson, Nicholas H. Darnell, Emery Rains, A. W. O. Hicks, James M. Burroughs, H. L. Kinney, William L. Cazneau, A. S. Cunningham, Abner S. Lipscomb, John Hemphill, Van R. Irion.

(Attest) Jas. H. RAYMOND, Secretary of the Convention.
Adopted July 4th, 1845.

The first state Legislature of Texas assembled at Austin on Friday, Feb. 20th, 1846. General Burleson was elected President of the Senate, and Mr. Crump, of Austin county, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

On the 21st of July the Mexican minister of foreign affairs addressed a report to the Congress in behalf of the government, strongly recommending war for the recovery of Texas in case the plan of annexation to the United States is consummated. This report closes with submitting the following proposition by the minister: