Debate was resumed on the motion of Mr. Turner (Ottawa-Carleton), seconded by Mr. Sharp,—That this House approves in general the budgetary policy of the Government.

And on the motion of Mr. Stevens, seconded by Mr. Wagner, in amendment thereto,—That all the words after the word "That" be deleted and the following substituted therefor:

"this House deplores the failure of the government's budget to deal with inflation and provide for a healthy economy; and in particular regrets the social injustice inherent in both the ten cent gasoline tax and the lack of necessary action to encourage the provision of housing at reasonable cost for Canadians."

And on the motion of Mr. Broadbent, seconded by Mr. Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre), in amendment to the proposed amendment,—That the amendment be amended by changing the period at the end thereof to a semicolon, and by adding immediately thereafter the following words:

"this House also regrets the gross injustice of the disguised and regressive tax on every working man and woman in Canada involved in higher premiums for unemployment insurance, as well as the serious injustice of the Federal Government's unilateral decision to renege on its commitments to the Provinces in respect of the cost of hospital and medical services.".

And debate continuing;

At 9.45 o'clock p.m., Mr. Speaker interrupted the proceedings pursuant to Standing Order 60(6):

And the question being put on the proposed amendment to the amendment, it was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 54)

YEAS

Messrs Alexander Hamilton Alkenbrack (Swift Current-Allard Maple Creek) Andre Hees (Calgary Centre) Hnatyshyn Baker Hogan Holmes (Grenville-Carleton) Baldwin Huntington Bawden Hurlburt Beatty Jarvis Beaudoin Jelinek Brewin Kempling Brisco Broadbent (Winnipeg North Centre) Cadieu Caquette Korchinski (Villeneuve) Lambert (Bellechasse) (Rocky Mountain) Laprise La Salle Crouse Dick Leggatt MacDonald (Miss) Dionne (Kamouraska) (Kingston and the Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-Islands) MacKay The Islands) Macquarrie Malone Ellis Elzinga Marshall

Masniuk

McCleave

McGrath

McKenzie

McKinley

Mazankowski

Fairweather

Forrestall

Firth

Fraser

Gillies

Halliday

Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Neil Nowlan Nystrom Orlikow O'Sullivan Paproski Revnolds Ritchie Roche Rodriguez Rondeau Saltsman Scott Smith (Churchill) Stanfield Stevens Stewart (Marquette) Towers Wagner Wenman Whiteway Whittaker Wise Woolliams Yewchuk-83.

McKinnon

Mitges

Muir

NAYS Messrs.

Abbott Ethier Allmand Faulkner Fleming Anderson Andres Fox Francis (Lincoln) Appolloni (Mrs.) Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) (Gander-Twillingate) Gendron Basford Goodale Béchard Gover Blais Grav Guay Blouin (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Boulanger Bussières Guilbault Haidasz Caccia Herbert Holt (Mrs.) Cafik Campagnolo (Mrs.) Campbell Hopkins Isabelle (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Saint-Paul) Kaplan Caron Lachance Lajoie Lalonde Clermont Collenette Langlois Comtois Condon Laniel Lapointe Leblanc Corbin Corriveau Côté (Laurier) LeBlanc Cullen (Westmorland-Kent) Lefebvre Cyr Danson De Bané Demers Loiselle Dionne (Chambly) (Northumberland-Loiselle (Saint-Henri) Miramichi) Lumley Douglas (Bruce-Grey) MacDonald Duclos (Cardigan) Dupont Macdonald Dupras (Rosedale) Duquet MacGuigan

Mackasey Maine Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) McRae Milne Munro (Hamilton East) Ouellet Parent Pelletier (Hochelaga) Pelletier (Sherbrooke) Philbrook Pinard Portelance Poulin Railton Raines Reid Richardson Roberts Rohinson Rooney Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Sauvé (Mrs.) Sharp Smith (Saint-Jean) Stewart (Cochrane) Tessier Turner (London East) (Ottawa-Carleton) Watson Young-107.

Changes in Committee Membership

Notice having been filed with the Clerk of the House pursuant to Standing Order 65(4)(b), membership of Committees was amended as follows:

Mr. Saltsman for Mr. Rodriguez on the Standing Committee on Finance, Trade and Economic Affairs.

Messrs. Gendron and Milne for Miss Campbell (South Western Nova) and Mr. Rooney on the Standing Committee on Fisheries and Forestry.

Messrs. Jelinek, Côté and La Salle for Messrs. Lambert (Edmonton West), Rooney and Hnatyshyn on the Standing Committee on Miscellaneous Estimates.

Messrs. Huntington, Douglas (Bruce-Grey) and Mazankowski for Messrs. McCain, Loiselle (Saint-Henri) and MacKay on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.