Mint and Currency

Mr. Deputy Speaker: On debate, the Hon. Member for Prince Albert (Mr. Hovdebo).

[Translation]

Mr. Guilbault (Saint-Jacques): Mr. Speaker, on a point of order.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The Hon. Member for Saint-Jacques (Mr. Guilbault), on a point of order.

Mr. Guilbault (Saint-Jacques): Mr. Speaker, I move that the Hon. Member for Renfrew—Nipissing—Pembroke (Mr. Hopkins) be now given the floor.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I must declare the motion by the Hon. Member for Saint-Jacques out of order.

[English]

In the meantime, there having been no intervening proceeding, the Hon. Member for Prince Albert (Mr. Hovdebo) has the floor.

Mr. Hovdebo: Mr. Speaker-

Mr. Shields: I rise on a point of order, Mr. Speaker. I would also like to have it recorded for my constituents that I am in the House but I refrained from voting also because I wanted to point out the stupidity of the delaying tactics of the NDP.

Mr. Stan J. Hovdebo (Prince Albert): Mr. Speaker, I understand that under the rules, I have unlimited time to speak.

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Hovdebo: I am very pleased to speak on-

Some Hon. Members: Oh, oh!

Mr. Shields: Take all night, Stan.

Mr. Hovdebo: I have lots of time. I will wait until it gets quiet. I can wait, I have unlimited time.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Order, please. We will give some time for those Hon. Members who wish to clear the House to do so. On debate, the Hon. Member for Prince Albert.

Mr. Hovdebo: Mr. Speaker, the Mint was established in 1908, and since then—

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Hovdebo: At that time, it was developed to produce coins. In 1969, it was made a Crown corporation. In the past, the Government sold Crown corporations which were making money. Regardless of its ideology, this is one Crown corporation the Government does not intend to sell, even if it is making money.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The Hon. Member for Kamloops—Shuswap (Mr. Riis) on a point of order.

Mr. Riis: Mr. Speaker, I move:

That the Hon. Member for Prince Albert be now heard.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The motion is in order. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Riis), which was agreed to on the following division:

• (1710)

(Division No. 289)

YEAS

Members

Riis

Skelly

Rodriguez

Young-18

Nunziata

Prud'homme

Robichaud-13

Althouse Blaikie Dewar Fulton Heap Hovdebo Keeper Manly McDonald (Broadview-Greenwood) McLaughlin Mitchell Nystrom Orlikow Parry

NAYS

Members

Boudria Caccia Finestone Frith Gauthier Grondin Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) Hopkins Kaplan Nicholson (Trinity)

• (1720)

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Lawrence: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. I would just like my constituents to know that I was here but abstained to show the stupidity of the delaying tactics.