Japan (whose withdrawal from the League does not become effective till March, 1935) and Germany (whose withdrawal from the League does not become effective till October, 1935), and ten non-permanent members elected by the Assembly.

At present the non-permanent members of the Council are as follows:-

China
Spain
Panama

Poland
Czechoslovakia
Mexico

Argentine Republic
Australia
Denmark
Portugal

due to retire in 1935.

due to retire in 1935.

The following are the rules which govern the election of non-permanent Members of the Council:-

"Article 1.- The Assembly shall each year, in the course of its ordinary session, elect three non-permanent Members of the Council. They shall be elected